Penne with Asparagus and Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by apedawn
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2006
I had to make some changes to due to the ingredients that I had on hand. I only had 2 portobella mushroom caps, so I sliced and cut them into bite size pieces. And I didn't have any canned tomatos so I chopped 2 small ones and put it in the food processor. Had I had the correct ingredients, this would have been little time consuming to make. I also used only 1/4 cup olive oil and half & half in an attempt to reduce calories. Because I didn't use heavy cream it didn't get as thick as it was supposed to, but the fresh veggies really stood out. It could still use a little tweaking to make it an awesome dish, but it definitely has the potential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by apedawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
Just finished scraping the last of this sauce off the pan - yum!! I used less olive oil and fresh tomatoes plus a little tomato puree since I didn't have canned - taste was so good before the cream that I almost didn't add it! But it was awesome with the cream too. Served it over chicken cooked with salt, pepper and a little paprika. Thanks Anita! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
This was very good. I made a few minor alterations. First, I browned some chicken breasts with salt and pepper in olive oil and set them aside. I picked up with the recipe as written from the beginning at that point, and I just added the chicken back in with the tomato puree. Then instead of cream, I used 1 cup of rice milk mixed with 1 tbsp. flour (I can't tolerate a lot of dairy!). When I served it, I topped it with a little shredded low fat mozzarella. My six-year-old loved it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
I loved this recipe as is. I have prepared this dish three times and am looking forward to having it for dinner again tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
Delicious. Had I had some chicken handy, I would have added it...but it was good without it. Loved the fresh veggies and the only change I made was to toss in a few shakes of Italian seasoning and use fat free sour cream as opposed to cream since to me, it adds a lot of flavor. And I decreased the oil by a lot - don't think there is a need for a full 1/2 cup! Nice and simple, will use again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chikee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
My family loved this and it was very simple to make. : ) Also a great vegetarian dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRDNA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
I loved this recipe. It was easy to make and tasted wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamburg, Hamburg, Germany
Living In: Lorton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
My husband is the type of man that thinks that if there is no meat in it, it ain't worth eating. I made this dish and he loved it. My whole family loved it. A family keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jorja

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sandy Springs, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Another Black Swan
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
A great quick and hearty evening meal! My modest changes include adding some porcini mushrooms and a splash of vodka along with the cream to kick up the sauce a bit, but the original recipe is wonderful by itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Another Black Swan

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
My husband and I made this based on the other reviews (it had 4 1/2 stars when we made it on 12/19/07) and this was definitely an emperor with no clothes!!! As with all recipes off this website, we made it first time through with no modifications to the original recipe; the result was bland and gluey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYREDLOCKS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Penne with Chicken and Asparagus

This light and tasty pasta is ready in about 30 minutes.

Shrimp and Asparagus

Sautéed shrimp, mushrooms, and asparagus are tossed with egg noodles.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States