Penne with Asparagus and Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
Absolutely delicious and incredibly easy! I used crushed tomatoes and canned mushrooms as it's what I had to hand. I added lots of oregano and basil, finished it off with romano cheese. I used half & half and cut back on the oil. My pasta choice was whole wheat spirals. Ate this with a salad of purple onions, crumbled feta, dried cranberries, green pepper,garbanzos, baby romaine, and summer corn. Divine! This will go into the regular line up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darkgardyner

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
Yum! This was so tasty. My husband and I both loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
Great recipe! My son loved it and my husband had 3 servings. I will definitely make this again! Thanks...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
Great recipe! We're not big on tomatoes and this scored high with all. Used 1-2 tb sp olive oil because you don't need much. Diced petite tomatoes, added lemon juice for some acidity. Then spinach and capers because I love them. Used 1/2 c of half-n-half and it was delicious. Hubby (who isn't crazy about asparagus) really loved it and told me not to change a thing. Can't wait to eat the leftovers for lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOBBES7895

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2008
I'm giving this recipe 4 stars because the first time I made it I thought it was good but needed improvement. Here are the changes I made to suit it more to my tastes and to make it a little healthier: reduced oil to 1/3 cup (don't reduce the oil too much, it adds to the richness!); added some chopped white onion; added more minced garlic; instead of pureed tomatoes, I opened a can of petite diced tomatoes and blended half of it, then added the blended tomatoes as well as the rest that were in the can; squeezed the juice of one small lemon into the sauce near the end to brighten the flavor a little. I thought it was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
Awesome recipe! I tweaked it a little. There was a reco to replace the heavy cream, so I used soy milk and nutritional yeast flakes (made it vegan-friendly). I also used fresh roma tomatoes instead of canned ones and added fresh basil. Yum! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beta cat
Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
This recipe was great and I made some alterations. I used whole wheat penne pasta and a bottle of alfredo sauce in place of the cream. I also cut the olive oil to about 2 tablespoons. It was just perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by raegan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
I really enjoyed this. I did change it a little. I didn't have mushrooms. I used chopped garlic with a whole bunch of asparagus which I sauted with a bit of butter and olive oil and seasoned with some salt and pepper. Then I put one can of diced garlic basil tomatoes (which I didn't drain)and simmered until most of the liquid had evaporated. I then eyed the amount of cream (only like a couple of tablespoons) to give it that rosy hue. I mixed the cooked mini penne I had with the sauce and then sprinkled some grated romano on top before serving. It was amazing. Even my two year old liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
Great recipe - tastes very gourmet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
What's not to love about this recipe? I took other reviewers advice and reduced the amount of olive oil, and served it with grilled chicken breast-delicious. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Penne with Chicken and Asparagus

This light and tasty pasta is ready in about 30 minutes.

Shrimp and Asparagus

Sautéed shrimp, mushrooms, and asparagus are tossed with egg noodles.

Pesto Chicken Penne Casserole

A creamy, one-pan chicken pasta with Alfredo and pesto sauces.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States