Penne with Asparagus and Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
The flavors were great. I used whole grain pene and fat free half and half. Also, no asparagus so used frozen. Was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ange82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
I really liked this recipe. I try to have a meatless meal at least once a week and this was perfect. Only change I would make is to use half butter half olive oil. Don't get me wrong, I love my olive oil but, when eating the leftovers they were a little bland. I think adding the butter would help. I will make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
I improvised on this and it was great! I added red bell pepper and used tomato paste and chicken broth since I didn't have canned tomatoes. To cut down on the fat, I used less oil, and added light sour cream, skim milk, and a little heavy cream. Very easy to lighten this up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Alabama, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
I altered the recipe and it was amazing and better than any restaurant 'pink sauce.' I sauted shallots with garlic, and used reduced fat sour cream instead of cream (thanks to the other reviewer for that suggestion) and then added 1/2 tub of crumbled gorgonzola. Amazing! Next time I will make this sauce for gnocchi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tustin, California, USA
Living In: Corte Madera, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
This was surprisingly tasty and good as a quick meal using up bits and pieces. I forgot to put the grated cheese on top but it was still a lovely dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chicken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
I added a few of my own seasonings and what not.. I added white onions and a few green pepper chunks..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
What a sauce!! I added a red pepper cut up and bit of white wine and diced tomatoes and small can of sauce, followed rest of recipe. Excellent flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele F.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
Very tasty. Cut oil to 1/3 c.; added 1/2 yellow onion, diced; subbed milk for cream and added some flour and corn starch; added splash of vodka, 1 t. oregano, and 1 t. tarragon to sauce. Wish I would have made more to have some leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
I loved this recipe, but did make it much healthier. I sauteed the garlic in a pan sprayed with non stick spray, then added the mushrooms and asparagus with a couple tablespoons of oil, not the half cup called for. In place of the whipping cream, I used a half cup low fat sour cream. It was delicious, and healthy and even the kids liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
REALLY GOOD and very easy recipe that tastes like more time was spent in the kitchen. The first time around I followed the recipe exactly and it was delicious. The second time around I liked it even more by cutting the oil to 1/4 cup and using 1/2 cup half & half and 1/2 cup low fat milk. Thanks for the recipe - I will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Violet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Penne with Chicken and Asparagus

This light and tasty pasta is ready in about 30 minutes.

Shrimp and Asparagus

Sautéed shrimp, mushrooms, and asparagus are tossed with egg noodles.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States