Penne with Asparagus and Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly and I found it pretty bland as a whole. I would try it with a splash of white wine or... something! The asparagus flavour with the sauce was really good though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaitlynChapman

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
Very bland,, added red pepper flakes and additional salt and pepper,, Wont make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Pretty good. I think it needs additional seasonings. A little bland. I even added some extra seasonings and used garlic/olive oil seasoned tomatoes. Good base to work with. First few bites kind of bland. Liked better, the more we ate. 9 yr old liked it. I also added diced bell peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TN Monkeymomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Carmel, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
As written, this dish has waaaay too much oil, and coupled with the cream, it's pretty terrible for you. BUT with a few changes, this can be really tasty and actually nutritious. I only used about 1 Tbsp of olive oil, also added 1/2 cup of chopped sweet onion and subbed a can of fire roasted tomatoes for the tomato puree. I also used a cup of 2% evaporated milk instead of cream, used whole grain pasta (about 10 oz) and sprinkled with a little reduced fat parmesan and some red pepper flakes. It turned out awesome... and without all the excess fat and calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Burdett

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Templeton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
i enjoyed this dish! i used linguine pasta, and added red onion. it was a little bland, but with some fresh herbs, and parmesan cheese it was tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by serena shultz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mankato, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Fortuna, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
This was great, I added a few sprinkles of Parmesan Cheese and the whole family loved it. I will makes this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caren1031

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
Very plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
Fixed this for dinner this week, the only thing I did different was to add red peppers along with the mushrooms because I had some in the house and needed to use them up and I used fat free half and half instead of the heavy cream. This was really good and easy! Probably would have been thicker with the cream, but still really good with the fat free half and half. Would be good with different combinations of vegetables too, will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wildwood, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
This recipe was bland and needs more spice. After adding lots of salt to my plate, I enjoyed it fine, but I wouldn't be excited to make it again. My substitutions: I used 2/3 cup olive oil, whole wheat pasta, 1 cup half and half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
Yummy.I love asparagus.It tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Penne with Chicken and Asparagus

This light and tasty pasta is ready in about 30 minutes.

Shrimp and Asparagus

Sautéed shrimp, mushrooms, and asparagus are tossed with egg noodles.

Pesto Chicken Penne Casserole

A creamy, one-pan chicken pasta with Alfredo and pesto sauces.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States