Penne with Asparagus and Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
Way too bland. Made it according to the recipe. Have to find a way to spice up the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Very simple meatless meal that is a breeze to whip up. Good base for whatever you want to add to spice it up. Else, a good simple weeknight dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
Not sure why the others said it was bland, I didn't think so. I thought it had a very nice flavor and loved the taste of the asparagus. I pretty much kept to the recipe but did make some small changes. Used garlic salt for salt, used a can of diced tomatoes(I mashed them up) for the pureed tomatoes, used 3 cloves of garlic instead of 2(we love garlic), and added a tsp of minced onions. At the end I added some parm cheese on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebdaisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
I tried this recipe last night with a twist: I added scallops and dried basil, reduced the oil and replaced heavy cream with light cream...The kids called it the best pasta they ever tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
I know everyone hates when you change the recipe, but hubby and I are having a compeition to see if we can lose 10 pounds in a month. That being said we cut way down on the olive oil and cut out the heavy cream. Use two cans of diced tomatoes (blended because we like pasta saucy). I also had some fresh basil in the fridge that I tossed in along with red pepper flakes and viola - a nice healthy meal. Oh, we topped with some fresh parm cheese (we're are not perfect!). Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
As others I didn't use as much olive oil, just enough to saute the garlic and one small chopped onion. Thought maybe the cooking time would be too long for the asparagus, but it wasn't and probably contributed to the nice flavor. I used half and half for the cream. Was a very good side dish with Sizzling Sherry Garlic Shrimp also on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
I didn't have luck with this for some reason. Might have just been me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brismo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
I tried to incorporate the other recommendations and it turned out great! Used less than 1/4 cup oil, substituted 1/2 cup low fat sour cream instead of the heavy cream, and added a dash of lemon juice. I also used 2/3 lb whole wheat penne and had grated paramesan on the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
I don't agree at all with the reviewers who thought this recipe was bland! They must be missing some taste buds I have or something because this dish was incredibly savory and delicious. That coupled with how easy it was to make ensures I will make it again and again, though I'll probably add chicken or shrimp just because I like a little more protein in my meals. The only thing I changed in the slightest was that I didn't have pureed tomatoes so I blended a can of diced tomatoes instead; I would be surprised if this affected the taste much at all. I was a little concerned that the asparagas would be mushy since it basically cooked for 35 minutes, and I considered decreasing the time but in the end I chose to follow the recipe exactly and I'm glad I did. It's amazing that something with so few ingredients, that requires so little effort, can taste so good! There are a lot of points where you're just standing around waiting for the meal to cook but I just set a timer and did other things around the house- and, my kitchen was clean when I finished cooking! That NEVER happens!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
This was so simple and NICE! I cooked this for my husband and he loved it! I added a little bit bacon bits before serving which add the crunchiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Penne with Chicken and Asparagus

This light and tasty pasta is ready in about 30 minutes.

Shrimp and Asparagus

Sautéed shrimp, mushrooms, and asparagus are tossed with egg noodles.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States