Penne in Vodka Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Delish! Made it for New Years Eve and all my guests loved it. I sautéed garlic and onion also and although I used heavy cream for the main meal for left overs I added reg milk to thin it out a little. Perfect people thought I bought the sauce. Looking forward to making it again for my next party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
No words for this recipe except WOW!! A big hit with my family. I even tripled the recipe and frozen the sauce for my daughter to take to college. Simmer till you can no longer smell alcohol and the amount of pepper flakes is perfect. I wouldn't change a thing in this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2013
Eating this as I type. The sauce came out soooo delicious. I may have to double it next time since my pasta dried out a bit and it soaked up a lot of the sauce and it wasn't so creamy anymore. Doubling and making my pasta a bit later. I added some chopped garlic to the butter and cooked sausage and mushrooms in a separate pan, adding them in with the tomato sauce. Super tasty. For any who think the vodka is too much: I used super cheapo vodka (on a budget lol) and followed the measurements exactly. Also followed the cooking directions exactly, even using a timer while simmering both times. During the first simmer, I was a bit worried as the steam burned my eyes with alcohol. But after both simmers (and the small amount of cooking in between to get it to a boil and such) the vodka taste was there a bit, but not the alcohol. Just be sure to give it plenty of time to evaporate away. If it's still too alcohol-ey, cook it longer, making sure there's steam coming off of it, as that's where the alcohol leaves. I'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pleasant Hill, California, USA
Living In: Middleton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
This sauce was very good.....very rich. That's a lotta butter and cream, but worth every bite. I could live on pasta, and vodka sauce is one of my favorites. I'll definitely make it again, just can't do it toooooo often, unfortunately. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy in Delaware

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
This is good. But this recipe is much better, with a more authentic flavor... http://allrecipes.com/recipe/penne-and-vodka-sauce/detail.aspx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Awesome! We make this all the time. So so so good. I use half and half instead of cream but that's the only change I made. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Delicious & romantic! The little bit of heat from the red pepper flake is great! I followed the recipe to the T, and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Columbia, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
This dish was AWESOME! I added to large cloves of garlic, chopped, and after the sauce was cooked, I threw in a can of diced tomatoes (because what ISN'T better with diced tomatoes??). :) Scrumptious! And it has a nice kick, too, with the Red Chili Pepper flakes. I think I'll add cooked, diced chicken next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
If you haven't tried this, you're missing out on a terrific dish. I'm not generally a fan of cream based sauces, but the proportions listed here are perfect! The sauce is unbelievably delicious! You do have to simmer the vodka for longer than 5 min. (Keep smelling the butter/vodka mixture until you barely detect the scent of vodka.) Great for a large group of guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
This was very tasty! I used linguine noodles and added grilled chicken and sauteed mushrooms, bell peppers, and zuchini. I also seasoned the sauce with garlic powder. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Penne and Vodka Sauce

A tomato and cream sauce flavored with sweet, salty pancetta.

Penne Spring Pasta

A gorgeously green spring pasta with asparagus, peas, and fresh mint.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States