Penne in Vodka Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
This was very tasty! I used linguine noodles and added grilled chicken and sauteed mushrooms, bell peppers, and zuchini. I also seasoned the sauce with garlic powder. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
Thougt this was pretty good. I cut back the butter to 6T, the cream to 3/4 cup and the pepper flaked to 1/4t. I think I could have use the whole 1/2t of pepper flakes and will next time, but next time I would add about 1/2 of a chopped onion with the butter and a few cloves of garlic and fresh mushrooms. I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claridge, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ooltewah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
I just made this meal for my boyfriend and we loved it! I modified the recipe slightly. I added garlic to the butter as it melted to give it more flavor and a can of crushed tomatoes with Italian seasoning for texture as the other tomato items were added. I also chopped up about eight fresh basil leaves and added them to the sauce at the end with the parmesan cheese. Next time, I plan on halving the amount of butter used in the recipe to cut back on fat. Overall, this recipe was quick, simple, and really really tasty at the end of the day. It's definitely going into our hearty food rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
I have been using this recipe for years, it is a family favorite - thank you Dawn! I agree, anyone ending up with a strong Vodka taste didn't simmer long enough. We've never had an issue with that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
I would give this recipe 6 stars if i could..it was DELICIOUS..and easy to prepare!!!!!!!!!!!! LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
So, I've made this recipe twice, sort of. The first time, I got all set to start cooking and realized what I thought was a bottle of vodka was really flavored rum. I made the recipe as stated, but substituted white wine for the vodka and it was yummy. We finally bought a bottle of vodka and I made this again last night. Wow wow wow. Wonderful, velvety rich sauce. At hubby's request I added onion, mushroom and vegetarian chicken strips. Great sauce. Great recipe. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by edensmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lapeer, Michigan, USA
Living In: Pinellas Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
I love this recipe!!!!!!! Its a hit everytime I make it!!! I did add 1/4 lb pancetta,diced well. I fry it in the butter for a few minutes before adding the vodka, and I added a few extra drops of worcestershire. This is the best!!! Thanks so much for this..It will be used for many years to come
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
This was great, I did follow other suggestions, by cutting vodka to 1/2 c. and I used lite cream, I also add some fresh garlic to butter. This was so good, and reheats very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mik

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Uxbridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Excellent as a base recipe...but it needs some extra flavor and additional cooking time to reduce the strong vodka flavor. Do not think that this recipe will take 20 minutes....it needs significant cooking time. I added much more heavy cream and tomato as well as garlic, spices and extra cheese. Everyone raved about the recipe. Use this as your base....then modify to your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkland, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Osceola, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
YUM, this was fabulous. I pan fried some pancetta and added it to the dish at the very end. I do think I will double the red pepper flakes as suggested by other users as well. Great Simple Recipe! I also double this recipe to ensure I can feed everyone and have leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie Greer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walnut Creek, California, USA
Living In: Paso Robles, California, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Penne and Vodka Sauce

A tomato and cream sauce flavored with sweet, salty pancetta.

Penne Spring Pasta

A gorgeously green spring pasta with asparagus, peas, and fresh mint.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States