Penne and Vodka Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
Thank you Rick for posting your recipe. And thanks to all the others who felt they also had to post their recipe under your reviews instead of posting their own version under Recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
I've been making this sauce for years. I've used several different pastas - penne, tortellini,raviolis, anything that holds sauce well b/c its so delish (oh, long fusilli works very well too!) I tried it this time with the pancetta as the recipe was written, it was good, but I prefer prosciutto (that's what mom & nana used). I also add minced onion to the prosciutto while sauteing' use 1 tbls butter and I (not nana)use fat-free half & half (absolutely no difference. It's also great w/o the prosciutto & you can add shrimp as suggested or grilled chicken strips (my fav!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Brick, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
This is heavenly! The whole family loved it..no complaints at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Courtice, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
This was just perfect. I will say that if you think it is a little sour from the vodka add just a pinch of sugar. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne H

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valencia, California, USA
Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
Yes, but changes; being a Texan in a very small coastal area, pancetta was not available; HOWEVER pork tasso from LA was. Gave the sauce an interesting spiced taste; add the vodka & it was great. Sorry, even if I could find pancetta, I think I'd still use the tasso. Also added fresh mushes too plus green onions (white & green) & garlic & onions for sauteeing- those are necessities in my dishes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
I did a few changes, mostly adding to the amounts of ingredients, but instead of the bacon I used spicy Italian sausage and Hunt's spaghetti sauce since I didn't have enough tomato sauce on hand. Then I topped it with grated parmesan cheese and baked it at 350 til it all melted together. My finicky teenaged daughter absolutely loved it and declared that it is "a repeat," meaning that we'll add it to our "do again" menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vernon, Texas, USA
Living In: Upland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
This is excellent! I have made this a number of times and am surprised that I hadn't taken the time to review it! I sub fat-free 1/2 and 1/2 for the whipping cream but otherwise I make it as directed. It is simpe and EXCELLENT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
Five Stars all the way, my family loved it, no leftovers. Served with salad & garlic bread. Easy to make, didn't change a thing and will be served again and again. Thanks for the recipe Rick its a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
OMG! This was by far the best Penne Vodka I've ever tasted. The pancetta is what sets this apart. I didn't change a thing but I did add some basil from my garden (I'm a basil fanatic!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAESS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bensalem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
What a fabulous dish! Like many others I swapped fat-free half and half for the heavy cream. I also pan seared chicken tenders, then I sliced and added them to the final product. The recipe called for tomato sauce, but that was a little broad. I used Safeway's Basil and Garlic sauce and it was perfect for this dish. I am quite pleased to have finally found a penne and vodka sauce recipe that I can easily make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 375) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Penne and Vodka Sauce

A tomato and cream sauce flavored with sweet, salty pancetta.

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Chef John’s Penne with Vodka Sauce

Discover what a splash of vodka can do for creamy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States