Penne and Vodka Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
excellent. Just the right blend of ingredients. I added scallops and crab for added deliciousness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
I have made 66 recipes from this site. Waited for the pancetta to get nice and brown in the butter before splashing it with a 1/3 cup a vodka. The vodka visibly worked some sort of chemical magic while it instantly deglazed the brown bits in the pan. My step-daughter, wife, and I all rank it as our absolute fave. Leftovers rating for my daughter and two sons will come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
Put in chicken, cut up cherry peppers and riggatoni in place of the penne pasta and you have Chicken Riggies. The vodka is optional! The dish of Utica, NY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Frankfort, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
Delicious and easy. I did add a dash of salt and some red pepper flakes. But very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
Thank you Rick for posting your recipe. And thanks to all the others who felt they also had to post their recipe under your reviews instead of posting their own version under Recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
I've been making this sauce for years. I've used several different pastas - penne, tortellini,raviolis, anything that holds sauce well b/c its so delish (oh, long fusilli works very well too!) I tried it this time with the pancetta as the recipe was written, it was good, but I prefer prosciutto (that's what mom & nana used). I also add minced onion to the prosciutto while sauteing' use 1 tbls butter and I (not nana)use fat-free half & half (absolutely no difference. It's also great w/o the prosciutto & you can add shrimp as suggested or grilled chicken strips (my fav!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Brick, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
This is heavenly! The whole family loved it..no complaints at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Courtice, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
This was just perfect. I will say that if you think it is a little sour from the vodka add just a pinch of sugar. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne H

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valencia, California, USA
Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
Yes, but changes; being a Texan in a very small coastal area, pancetta was not available; HOWEVER pork tasso from LA was. Gave the sauce an interesting spiced taste; add the vodka & it was great. Sorry, even if I could find pancetta, I think I'd still use the tasso. Also added fresh mushes too plus green onions (white & green) & garlic & onions for sauteeing- those are necessities in my dishes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
I did a few changes, mostly adding to the amounts of ingredients, but instead of the bacon I used spicy Italian sausage and Hunt's spaghetti sauce since I didn't have enough tomato sauce on hand. Then I topped it with grated parmesan cheese and baked it at 350 til it all melted together. My finicky teenaged daughter absolutely loved it and declared that it is "a repeat," meaning that we'll add it to our "do again" menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vernon, Texas, USA
Living In: Upland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 368) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Penne and Vodka Sauce

A tomato and cream sauce flavored with sweet, salty pancetta.

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Chef John’s Penne with Vodka Sauce

Discover what a splash of vodka can do for creamy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States