Penne and Vodka Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
I really like the basis of this recipe, but I made a few additions. I sautéed finally minced onion in a combo of olive oil and butter. I also added fresh basil and hot pepper flakes. This recipe is a great starting point to add the flavors that you like. Also, I have made both with and without the pancetta. It's delicious both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
I agree with the reviewer who likened it to chef boy-r-dee. Edible but was thick and bland. Also, there was not enough pancetta for the flavor to be really present. All in all it was okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Added finely chopped mushrooms and onions with the bacon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
This recipe is great and super quick. I did omit the vodka the second time I made because I didn't taste the difference. I used fat-free half/half instead of whipping cream and goya tomato sauce. It always comes out tasting great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
I've made this several times. It's one of my go-to pasta recipes. I also use fat free half and half. Easy and delicious!! My kind of recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
This is probably one of my favorite sauces ever! Perfect, and the pancetta definitely adds good flavor to this. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
This is delicious. I forgot to buy whipping cream, so I substituted Dean's sour cream instead and it is delicious. I also sauteed some ground pork sausage with the pancetta. This is a great sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
This recipe is a great starter! I added shallots and 2 cloves of fresh garlic until fragrant just before adding the vodka, as well as a bit of chopped fresh basil and oregano for last 10 mins. Fresh ground pepper and a bit of red pepper flake (as always), and I stirred in most of the parmesan in the last 5 minutes, saving a bit to sprinkle on top along with fresh garlic chives. Served with grilled chicken breast. Practically licked the plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GP_Bklyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parsippany, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
I used this just for the vodka sauce recipe and thought this recipe was a great starter recipe. I did make some modifications including adding sautéed onions and crushed red pepper and removing the pancetta since we don't eat meat. I also blanched two tomatoes to remove the skin and added them to the tomato sauce. I cooked the butter and vodka sauce for about 1 minute and added the tomato sauce and cooked for a good 45 minutes on low before adding the cream. This was so amazingly delicious, I will definitely make it again. We made our own pasta using the basic pasta recipe from this website - also highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hoveyfox

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2013
I love, love, love this receipe! I'd had something similar at a conference, and was thrilled to try it myself. Now, my kids beg for it. And, it's super easy to make. One change: I add grilled chicken breast & substitute regular bacon for the pancetta. LOVE THIS RECIPE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 375) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Penne and Vodka Sauce

A tomato and cream sauce flavored with sweet, salty pancetta.

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Chef John’s Penne with Vodka Sauce

Discover what a splash of vodka can do for creamy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States