Penne and Vodka Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2015
I've made this twice now, once with store bought sauce, and one with homemade. Both were excellent.the one thing I disliked was the pancetta floating in about 4 tbs of fat, so, while I understand wanting to soften the taste with butter, I drained the pan before adding the vodka. Everyone in my household loves this dish, and they get a kick out of the vodka as ingredient. (For those of you wary of the vodka, I assure you that you don't taste it, it simply adds flavor to the pancetta and helps finish off its cooking). Lovely, creamy, oh and USE AS LITTLE SALT AS POSSIBLE if you make your own sauce. Between the pancetta and the Parmesan you're all set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2015
I have made this recipe twice. Once was as written and the second time with a few modifications. It is good but slightly bland as written. First, it needs to be doubled. I like to be generous with sauce and I like leftovers. Next, add a little garlic. And last, I used tomato sauce with italian seasoning or you can add your own to the sauce. Don't add salt because it does not need it. If you have enough for leftovers, it will be even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2015
Really enjoyed making this. I used to buy premade vodka sauce, but I will be making it from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Oramous

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2015
This was the most boring recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2015
The kids loved this! I forgot to pick up pancetta so I sliced some bacon very thin! Was really good! Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smross5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Underwood, Iowa, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2015
Delicious! I did make a few adjustments though: 3 cloves of diced garlic cooked with the pancetta, and 1/2 cup of vodka, just a tad more heavy cream and crushed hot peppers to the sauce to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2015
Made it this evening for dinner. I added garlic, chives and a little fresh basil............everyone loved it. Will definitely be making it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2015
Amazing! This is an awesome recipe. I used the half and half cream and it turned out great. I also made sure I went and found pancetta bacon and used it. I used a PC (Presidents Choice - Loblaws in Canada) brand fire roasted red pepper tomato sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike Mellor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2015
Amazing! Not hard to prepare and delish! I doubled the sauce recipe and boiled two boxes of penne, but it didn't look like enough sauce so I wound up only adding about 1 and 1/4 box pasta to double the sauce. It was heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katiesmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2015
It was excellent and easy!!! I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 435) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Penne and Vodka Sauce

A tomato and cream sauce flavored with sweet, salty pancetta.

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Chef John’s Penne with Vodka Sauce

Discover what a splash of vodka can do for creamy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States