Penne and Vodka Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2002
I wanted to reduce calories without sacrificing flavor in this recipe, so I substituted fat-free half and half for the heavy cream - no discernable difference in taste and greatly reduced the fat!! Also added a generous amount of freshly gorund black pepper. It was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
193 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
We love this one so much that I made it the night I asked her to marry me! We use fat free half and half also, and don't miss anything. I've tried it with regular bacon in a pinch, and it's definitely worth a trip to the specialty store (or aisle) for the pancetta. The pancetta just gives a great salty bite to the sauce. I serve with fresh bread and a simple salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
132 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2002
Made this for our best friend's wedding anniversary celebration and it was beyond fabulous. They, along with my family, are asking for this dish constantly, even the picky kids liked it. Had a little trouble finding the pancetta but was successful in the end. Also used Gray Goose vokda. Superb! Easy! You can't get any better than this. I also served with it a warm goat cheese salad, fresh French bread and chocolate Grand Marnier creme brulee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2004
I have tried other vodka sauces and always come back to this one. I add one small onion chopped,some garlic and sprinkle chives on the top. We love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
Wow...I don't know where I went wrong with this recipe. I used all top-notch ingredients...imported pancetta, top-shelf vodka, high quality tomato sauce, real Parmigiano-Reggiano...it just wasn't that good. In fact, without the good cheese, it tasted a lot like Chef Boyardee. I won't bother making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2005
This is a wonderful recipe! It was one of the most delicous vodka sauces I have ever tasted and it was so easy to make! I added two cloves of garlic (minced) in with the pancetta and sprinkled some onion powder and a dash of red pepper flakes. I would defintely NOT omit the pancetta as that added such a delicious flavor. This is a keeper I can't wait to make this again. My boyfriend absolutely loved it as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
I just made this tonight. I didn't feel like having penne so I made blackened chicken with mushrooms covered in this sauce. Heaven on a plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheepy
Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2006
This easy & tastes so good. I am giving my version a four as I did not have pancetta - used regular bacon and diced onion & garlic, near the end a pinch of herbs. I also served with chicken & basil tortelleni as that is what I had on hand, plenty of flavour. Looking forward to finding some Pancetta in NZ & trying it the original way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathietay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winton, Southland, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2003
This recipe is definitely a 5 star! It caught my eye and I decided to take a chance and make it for a large amount of people for Mothers Day. It couldn't have come out better. Even thripling the recipe, came out great. The pancetta is a bit pricey but definitly worth it! I did add some crushed red pepper and glad I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
What a phenomenal sauce! I took the suggestions from other reviewers and added two cloves of minced garlic, finely chopped onion, and red pepper flakes for some heat. I also used half and half to save a few calories. My husband thought that I'd gone out and picked up dinner from one of the local Italian eateries until I disabused him of that notion. Served with garlic bread and salad to complete the meal. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay City, Texas, USA
Living In: Howell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 369) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Penne and Vodka Sauce

A tomato and cream sauce flavored with sweet, salty pancetta.

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Chef John’s Penne with Vodka Sauce

Discover what a splash of vodka can do for creamy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States