Penne and Vodka Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2015
16 oz was too much penne pasta; 10-12 works better. Could definitely use more seasoning during cooking. There are much better vodka sauce recipes out there
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paulyman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2015
I loved it used shrimp instead thank you for the recipe I will make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leni

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
I just can't understand that the recipe doesn't include garlic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
My 13 year-old son made this and it was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
Because I live in Brazil, I used "cachaça" and I can tell you that it tastes better than had it have been with vodca. BE AWARE that the alcohol DOES NOT all evaporate during cooking. Also, since "cachaça" is very sweet, be sure to use a extra salty meat to even the dish out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by George Seaman

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
I am not sure why this recipe has been rated so high. Without adding the suggestions of others and my additions, this sauce would have been very bland and thin. To the bacon I added fresh herbs (thyme, rosemary, basil, parsley), and 2 each green onions and garlic clove. At the end it was still thin and bland so I added 2 tablespoons of tomato paste, a generous amount of fresh ground pepper and crushed red pepper flakes, and dash of kosher salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2015
You will not find a better vodka sauce that's easier to make...you might not find a better vodka sauce, period. We prefer chunks of pancetta (or prosciutto) to thin-sliced, and our local Acme sells Daniele brand diced pancetta in 4oz. containers; we use one container per batch. Note: when using pre-diced meat, the fat is not trimmed; cut down on the butter by half or it'll get greasy. If you're dicing your own meat, trim off the fat and keep the butter, or keep a little fat for flavor and adjust the butter accordingly. A 1/2 cup of diced red onion (per batch) goes in with the pancetta, and Rao's marinara is the sauce of choice. Smirnoff vodka. Heavy cream. Parmesan goes right into the pot after the sauce is finished simmering, and some shaved Parmesan goes on top along with lots of fresh Italian parsley or basil. We always triple the recipe and freeze what we don't eat so it's ready to go the next time the craving hits. Because the craving always returns ?? Thanks, Rick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
Overall very good. It came out a little salty for me, but still good. I made two additions, I added minced garlic and parsley to the sauce. I didn't have penne pasta on hand so I used spaghetti instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
Super quick and easy! Love this recipe! Turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nzeke
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
Excellent dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 427) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Penne and Vodka Sauce

A tomato and cream sauce flavored with sweet, salty pancetta.

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Chef John’s Penne with Vodka Sauce

Discover what a splash of vodka can do for creamy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States