Penne and Vodka Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
One of my favorite dishes. This is the recipe closest to the one I use. I actually saute' a little bit of onion with the bacon in this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
This is a great recipe!! I followed it completely just added a pinch of red pepper flakes.... yum yum. Made a huge pan of it for a church function last night. Ill let you all know what a bunch of young men from the band think!! Will make again soon...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen Breitfeld

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
My husband said it was better than most hes had. I did add some onions and sundried tomatoes the second time I made it, for a little extra punch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
My family wanted me to cook this again ASAP. LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
REALLY REALLY REALLY unimpressed. i need to completely tweak this to make it even worth eating.....we LOVE vodka sauce and this sauce was extremely thin and flavorless. i will keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaPulk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willimantic, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Groton, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
A little too thick, but easily fixed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
I combined this recipe and the "Tomato Vodka Sauce" recipe and it was as good as the sauce at my favorite little Italian place. Seperately, both of these recipes are OKAY but missing something. Comibing them did the trick. I made my own sauce with a 28oz can of chunky crushed tomatoes and a smaller can of diced tomatoes. I added chicken (2 breasts) and cooked it in 2TBSP of butter with 1T olive oil, one small onion diced, and 1 garlic clove finely chopped until the chicken was brown on the outisde and the pancetta was browning. I added the Vodka (1/2C) and after a few minutes the tomato products and whipping cream. I used more than 1/2C because I used more ingredients and wanted more sauce. I simmered it and topped it with Parm to serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
This is a very good recipe, but the taste depends on the pasta sauce used. I like to use Prego; I find it has a lot of flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
Don't underrate a recipe if you change all the ingredients the poster gives you. Thats just not fair! Substitute bacon for pancetta? There is NO substitution for the taste. Be careful of adding much extra because the pancetta is pretty salty. My local grocery carries the pancetta and the local grocers are much more willing to order you something they don't usually carry over the big chain grocers. Excellent recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
I wish I could give it more stars, it's that good! I added a two cloves of garlic and used a garlic & herb tomato sauce. I had to use bow tie pasta because I spilled the penne all down the front of me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 398) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Penne and Vodka Sauce

A tomato and cream sauce flavored with sweet, salty pancetta.

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Chef John’s Penne with Vodka Sauce

Discover what a splash of vodka can do for creamy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States