Penne and Vodka Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: May 6, 2010
I have made this twice now, and highly agree with the people who say the pancetta makes or breaks this recipe! The first time I used a high quality pancetta that I bought from our Whole Foods store and it was OUTSTANDING! The second time, I used pre-packaged pancetta that I got from our local Walmart, and it turned out only eh,ok, not quite the same quality as it was the first time. With that said, I cant see how substituting bacon for the pancetta would even begin to give this the flavor it needs to be a superb dish. Will definately make again and again, but only when I am using the high quality pancetta!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela W

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Delicious delicious delicious. I didn't have any bacon or pancetta available so I just omitted it - made no difference, I'm sure. I also added shrimp when I added the sauce. Perfect amount of time for it to cook. So good. I went back for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Holy Moly! I've been dreaming of my favorite vodka sauce from a local restaurant. This blows it out of the water! Perfect with the pancetta! You have to try this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
I thought this turned out pretty good. I used half and half in place of the cream and I used regular bacon in place of the pancetta. I could not find it in my grocery store. It worked out fine though because it still tasted good. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
Excellent. This is my sons favorite pasta recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
Great! Though I doubled it, and should have used less pasta (meaning- more sauce.) Followed to a "T" and got lots of compliments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIETTEMB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Valley, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Scotch Plains, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
Great recipe. I have made this several times. Easy to prepare. I have followed the receipe exactly as written---always a hit...thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellibelli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
Very quick and easy. I added some garlic, but other than that followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
This is the single best dish I ever made or ate at home. I changed NOTHING. The pancetta made the dish! Restaurant quality, absolutely delicious, and SO easy! Make sure to get the pancetta sliced thick so that it's easy to dice. Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 375) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Penne and Vodka Sauce

A tomato and cream sauce flavored with sweet, salty pancetta.

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Chef John’s Penne with Vodka Sauce

Discover what a splash of vodka can do for creamy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States