Penne and Vodka Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
This was a hit with the bf. Substitutions and additions: I used Tinkada gluten-free rice Penne, cooked for 15 minutes instead of regular Penne. Tito's vodka was awesome in it and less pricey than Goose. Full fat heavy cream and Boar's Head Pancetta. For extra flavor, I added to the recipe 2 cloves of garlic, one small onion and half a small, red bell pepper, all minced together in a food processor. I added these ingredients after reducing the vodka and pancetta mixture. I also added about 2 cups of frozen jumbo peeled shrimp: defrosted in a pyrex in the sink with cold running water for about 15 minutes and then strained, placed back into pyrex and flash cooked in boiling water (just pour over them) until cooked through. Since the shrimp will float out of the container unless weighted, I keep a small sieve over them to keep them in the pyrex and keep the h2O flowing. Add the cooked shrimp and sauce to the Penne and cook 5 more minutes to allow flavors to meld. Sprinkled individual servings with fresh-grated parmegiano-regiano and fresh-ground black pepper. I served this with a spinach salad with toasted pecans, chevre and homemade shallot/red wine vinaigrette, and a nice Red Zinfandel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cleverpun

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
OMG! This was SOOOOO good! Made this as the recipe stated, with the addition of a couple of herbs to the sauce. Tasted even better re-heated the next afternoon for lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
This was good for what it was and pancetta definitely added good flavor. However, I was disappointed, because it really just tasted like tomato soup with pasta mixed in. *shrug*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janeylynne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
Very Very good. I ussually double the ingredients and then add a touch more cream. I dont like too much tomato taste. But overall delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
This was delicious and very simple and easy. I used prosuito instead of Bacon and I did add a little more cream. Family enjoyed....will make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
I made this and added 2 cloves of garlic and it was perfect! My husband and I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
What a phenomenal sauce! I took the suggestions from other reviewers and added two cloves of minced garlic, finely chopped onion, and red pepper flakes for some heat. I also used half and half to save a few calories. My husband thought that I'd gone out and picked up dinner from one of the local Italian eateries until I disabused him of that notion. Served with garlic bread and salad to complete the meal. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay City, Texas, USA
Living In: Howell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Great that day next day but I still loved it when eaten immediately
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elmont, New York, USA
Living In: Yonkers, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
i made this for a pasta sauce tasting party at my friend's house. it was by far the best! delicicous! - patticakes12
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 383) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Penne and Vodka Sauce

A tomato and cream sauce flavored with sweet, salty pancetta.

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Chef John’s Penne with Vodka Sauce

Discover what a splash of vodka can do for creamy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States