Penne a la Vodka III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
I cook this ALL the time. I always use finely chopped shallots and 1 cup of vodka reduced. I also add chick pieces the sprinkle Parmesan cheese after done cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
So simple & so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
I used lite cream instead of heavy cream but followed the rest of the recipe exactly, and it tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
Where's the onion?? Garlic?? Herbs?? Thank God I added these after reviewing the recipe and prior to cooking. I only used this recipe as a basic source.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jillian
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
This has potential with a little tweaking - I used half the amount of pasta. I sauteed the minced garlic along with some diced onion (about 1/4 c.) in a couple Tbsp. of olive oil then added 1/4 tsp. of crushed red pepper flakes along with 1/2 cup of vodka. I let that simmer for a few minutes. After adding the crushed tomatoes I added 1 Tbsp. of basil, 1/4 tsp. of oregano, 1 tsp. of parsley, 1/2 tsp. of salt and 2 tsp. of sugar. After that simmered for about 15 minutes I then added 1 cup of light cream along with 1/2 cup of grated parmesan to make it extra creamy. Great with a side of garlic bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
This is a great recipe! I made it last night for dinner and it was fabulous-just as good as when I used to work in an ittalian restaurant! I'm making it for our christmas eve party tomorrow and adding bacon to it! Thanks for a great, uncomplicated recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
Good, but I agree missing something...mushrooms? I know it's not typical for mushrooms in Vodka sauce, but I think it would have added a pleasant texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
I made a half recipe of this and used canned diced tomotoes in Italian seasonings because that's all I had. It made the sauce much chunkier but the spices gave it great flavor. Next time I would run the tomotoes through a proccessor quickly to make it a little less chunky. I also sauted a little bit of onion with the garlic. At the end I mixed the sauce in with the pasta and cooked it on a low temp for about 5 mintues, that gave the sauce a chance to thicken up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
I have this same recipe, except there is a 1/4 cup of parsley added at the end. I also add grilled chicken breast seasoned with seasoning salt. I get alot of compliments on this recipe. I also grate fresh Romano cheese on each serving
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2007
I added extra vodka to try to umph up the umph, but it didn't really work, Parmagian cheese went well with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Penne and Vodka Sauce

A tomato and cream sauce flavored with sweet, salty pancetta.

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Creamy Tomato & Tuna Penne Pasta

See a pasta dish that's based loosely on a classic diner lunch combo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States