Penne a la Vodka III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
So simple & so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
I used lite cream instead of heavy cream but followed the rest of the recipe exactly, and it tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
Where's the onion?? Garlic?? Herbs?? Thank God I added these after reviewing the recipe and prior to cooking. I only used this recipe as a basic source.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jillian
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
This has potential with a little tweaking - I used half the amount of pasta. I sauteed the minced garlic along with some diced onion (about 1/4 c.) in a couple Tbsp. of olive oil then added 1/4 tsp. of crushed red pepper flakes along with 1/2 cup of vodka. I let that simmer for a few minutes. After adding the crushed tomatoes I added 1 Tbsp. of basil, 1/4 tsp. of oregano, 1 tsp. of parsley, 1/2 tsp. of salt and 2 tsp. of sugar. After that simmered for about 15 minutes I then added 1 cup of light cream along with 1/2 cup of grated parmesan to make it extra creamy. Great with a side of garlic bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
This is a great recipe! I made it last night for dinner and it was fabulous-just as good as when I used to work in an ittalian restaurant! I'm making it for our christmas eve party tomorrow and adding bacon to it! Thanks for a great, uncomplicated recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
Good, but I agree missing something...mushrooms? I know it's not typical for mushrooms in Vodka sauce, but I think it would have added a pleasant texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
I made a half recipe of this and used canned diced tomotoes in Italian seasonings because that's all I had. It made the sauce much chunkier but the spices gave it great flavor. Next time I would run the tomotoes through a proccessor quickly to make it a little less chunky. I also sauted a little bit of onion with the garlic. At the end I mixed the sauce in with the pasta and cooked it on a low temp for about 5 mintues, that gave the sauce a chance to thicken up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
I have this same recipe, except there is a 1/4 cup of parsley added at the end. I also add grilled chicken breast seasoned with seasoning salt. I get alot of compliments on this recipe. I also grate fresh Romano cheese on each serving
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2007
I added extra vodka to try to umph up the umph, but it didn't really work, Parmagian cheese went well with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2005
Not bad - needs something else - maybe onions/peppercorns. I added some jumbo shrimp to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Penne and Vodka Sauce

A tomato and cream sauce flavored with sweet, salty pancetta.

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Chef John’s Penne with Vodka Sauce

Discover what a splash of vodka can do for creamy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States