Penne a la Vodka II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
Halved the cream as other reviewers have said and it came out fabulous! Also, I don't like chunky tomatoes in my sauce so I used a can of tomato sauce rather than the whole peeled tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
My husband and I absolutely loved this! He said it was "restaurant quality" for sure!! Will be using this in the future and to friends!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lizmoduh
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
Simply amazing. I did cut down the heavy cream to about 3/4 a pint. But this recipe makes for an absolutely delicious meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
Great recipe but it needs Parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
I will be making this again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Not a fan of vodka, BUT. This dish was great. And very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
easy and delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
Delicious but I amend the recipe a bit. I saute shallots with the garlic in the first step. Also, when I add the tomatoes and basil in, I also put a few dashes of red pepper flakes and about a tablespoon of sugar in (to cut the bitterness). Always turns out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
I've made this three times now. The original recipe is why I rated it a 4. It became a ten, and a family favorite when I chopped up an onion and 5 slices of bacon or panchetta and sautéed them to start and serving with grated parmasean. The rest of the recipe was followed as is. I would suggest however that adding the cream to taste is a good idea. Start with a quarter cup and taste.. In fact, I used 5% cream once and it was excellent. Just remember Chef John's suggestion, after you mix the sauce in with the pasta, cover it and let it sit for 5 minutes and let the sauce absorb into the pasta and it won't be runny. Also, I learned on an Italian cooking class to always use whole tomatoes, San Marzano if available, because any diced or pureed ones loose their quality when exposed to blades or the tin in the canning process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
This was delicious! I halved the cream and added mushrooms, spicy Italian sausage and an extra clove of garlic. I will be making this again! Next time I won't be so lazy and add some zucchini on the side. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 243) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Penne and Vodka Sauce

A tomato and cream sauce flavored with sweet, salty pancetta.

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Chef John’s Penne with Vodka Sauce

Discover what a splash of vodka can do for creamy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States