Penne a la Vodka II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2006
I've made several a la vodka sauces before, however most used tomato puree or just canned tomato sauce. The idea of using whole peeled tomatos in this recipe is a good one, however that's the only thing I would do again from this recipe. There is entirely too much heavy cream used in this recipe. The flavor of the tomatos and the spices was great, but once the heavy cream was added this sauce suddenly became very bland. Not only was the sauce bland, but it was very thin. My recommendation would be to cut the heavy cream in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
175 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
Vodka sauces are wonderful and so easy to make! I sauteed some chopped onion in olive oil along with 3 cloves of garlic. I then added 1/4 tsp. of red pepper flakes. I used a 28 oz. can of crushed tomatoes instead of whole and then 2 tsp. of sugar to cut the acidity of the tomatoes. I also added a bit of parmesan cheese along with the cream and the sauce came out very smooth and oh so good over the penne pasta. Great with garlic bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
174 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2005
I made this for dinner last night - my husband called it "restaurant quality". With the alterations I made, it was closer to another 5-star recipe on this site, "Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce", with no meat. I recommend using red pepper flakes, 3/4t. salt, crushed or diced tomatoes (vs. whole) and less cream. I added sliced, fresh mushrooms halfway through - oh yum! Adding the red pepper with some salt will eliminate the blandness that other reviewers mentioned. I will make this again with those changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
150 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2006
This is amazing if you mix it together with the penne and let it all cook together at the end for an extra 10 minutes. The sauce thickens and the flavor really comes out. I also used half the amount of cream and about 3/4 lb of pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by julie a

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamsville, New York, USA
Living In: Lewiston, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2002
Absolutely amazing. I varied the recipe just a bit by using crushed, not whole, tomatoes, and about 3/4s of a pint of heavy cream - but everyone went back for thirds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2007
Follow this recipe exactly except: Add 1/2 tsp of Red Pepper Flakes to make it slightly spicy that everyone will like... I personally like 1 tsp. Add the cream and simmer for 5 mins, then add the sauce to the noodles and simmer until the sauce turns from watery to sticky... just like making mac and cheese! I also like to add some cooked jumbo shrimp when I add the cream. This recipe is so close to the Penne alla Vodka I order at a very expensive italian restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KEVINdaCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2003
Wow!! Now I know what to cook for my boyfriend when he comes into town next weekend. I have been experimenting, trying to come up with the perfect dinner for him, and this one definitely is up to par!! I threw in a dash of red pepper flakes and extra garlic for some heat. I halfed the recipe, but accidentally forgot to halve the vodka (yes, it WAS an accident!) :), but it turned out delicious anyway. Next time i might add some grilled chicken breast, and maybe some peas for color. You HAVE to try this recipe, you will not be disappointed, i promise. Thanks Liarose!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2003
I have tried countless recipes for vodka sauce. I've also ordered it at restaurants several times. This is the best vodka sauce I've ever had. My husband and everybody I make it for loves it. It's very easy, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2003
Excellent! I can't recommend this recipe enough. It's easy to make and absolutely delicious. My whole family loved it. I even substituted fat free half and half for the cream and it still tasted wonderful! I probably didn't need to but I also added a dash of red pepper flakes. I can't wait to make this again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Schenectady, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2002
This was simple, elegant and delicious! I even got away with using half-and-half and it was still very good. I also added sliced mushrooms and shrimp. Highly recommended for anyone who enjoys Vodka sauce! This is one of the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 245) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Penne and Vodka Sauce

A tomato and cream sauce flavored with sweet, salty pancetta.

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Chef John’s Penne with Vodka Sauce

Discover what a splash of vodka can do for creamy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States