Penne a la Vodka II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
followed the recipe exactly, but i did add a shake of red pepper flakes to give it a kick. was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaliforniaBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Wales, New York, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
Definitely not quite what I was hoping for. Too creamy, not enough spices. Where are the onions? I had to add them on my own along iwth a lot more sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
So delicious and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by on2mami
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
This recipe is amazing! I added the onions and bacon from the earlier version of this recipe (Penne a la vodka I) and it was delicious! I also added parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by on2mami

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Warwick, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Tasty recipe. I would recommend adding some cooked chicken cut into small pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salem, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
I've made this now about 100 times. Instead of whole peeled tomatoes, I use Fire Roasted diced tomatoes with garlic. I add about 1 tsp red pepper flakes and 1 tsp black & red pepper. I only use 1 cup heavy cream and I use vanilla vodka and it's out of this world!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
This is a great recipe. I did only use half a pint of heavy cream as I find that a whole pint is too much. This is tasty and delicious. I recommend adding bacon to the cooking garlic, as it adds a really nice flavour. Then add the tomatoes, basil, salt and pepper. I also add chili peppers when it is cooking to add a little heat also. A classic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stephmac

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
This recipe makes a very good vegetarian Penne a la Vodka. Definitely stick with the heavy cream -I tried using light cream and it was not as good as when I made it with the heavy cream. I also like to add the pasta to the sauce at the end and cook it together, to thicken up the sauce a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
I made this vegan style with soymilk and it still came out great (and much healthier)! I also used one (14.5 oz) can of whole peeled tomato and one tomato sauce for a "smoother" sauce. Fresh basil is key, but I've also made it with dry and the sauce still tastes good! I also add about 1/4 cup finely diced white onion when cooking the garlic for an added level of flavor! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JROBERTS1983

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheeling, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
This stuff was AMAZING! My hubby cannot stop talking about it! I added grilled chicken to ours and a dash of red pepper flakes, and I used 1/2 the amount of heavy cream called for as recommended by others, but otherwise followed the recipe as is and it was PERFECT! I'm definitely making this next time we have company. Mmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GradysMomma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Hollister, Missouri, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 246) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Penne and Vodka Sauce

A tomato and cream sauce flavored with sweet, salty pancetta.

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Chef John’s Penne with Vodka Sauce

Discover what a splash of vodka can do for creamy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States