Penne a la Vodka II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
This is a great recipe. I did only use half a pint of heavy cream as I find that a whole pint is too much. This is tasty and delicious. I recommend adding bacon to the cooking garlic, as it adds a really nice flavour. Then add the tomatoes, basil, salt and pepper. I also add chili peppers when it is cooking to add a little heat also. A classic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stephmac

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
This recipe makes a very good vegetarian Penne a la Vodka. Definitely stick with the heavy cream -I tried using light cream and it was not as good as when I made it with the heavy cream. I also like to add the pasta to the sauce at the end and cook it together, to thicken up the sauce a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
I made this vegan style with soymilk and it still came out great (and much healthier)! I also used one (14.5 oz) can of whole peeled tomato and one tomato sauce for a "smoother" sauce. Fresh basil is key, but I've also made it with dry and the sauce still tastes good! I also add about 1/4 cup finely diced white onion when cooking the garlic for an added level of flavor! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JROBERTS1983

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheeling, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
This stuff was AMAZING! My hubby cannot stop talking about it! I added grilled chicken to ours and a dash of red pepper flakes, and I used 1/2 the amount of heavy cream called for as recommended by others, but otherwise followed the recipe as is and it was PERFECT! I'm definitely making this next time we have company. Mmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GradysMomma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Hollister, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
We loved it. I used 25% heavy cream and 75% 1% milk so the fat content would be lowered. It was still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
I absolutely loved this. Do not change a thing to the recipe. It is perfect. Thanks so much for the great food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Parlin, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
I add onions because I love them, but its a great basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
This tasted as good as something you would get at a nice Italian restaurant. I did use a half pint instead of a whole pint of heavy cream after reading other people's reviews, and I added 2 tablespoons of butter and a splash of milk. I also added a generous helping of red pepper flakes...it needed that 'kick.' It was quite good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
This was very good. My sauce kept reducing so I added 1 can of tomato sauce. I used one cup heavy cream. For a little bit of a kick I added a dash of red pepper flakes, one small whole onion diced and a dash of nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
Absolutely great! I substituded the tomatos with diced tomatos with same can size and added sliced mushrooms. Kim loved it and son actually liked it too. Great and very easy for a quality dinner. It was made as a side dish for breaded boneless pork chops, next just going to may chicken chuncks with it. You won't be sorry for trying this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RicKim

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 240) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Penne and Vodka Sauce

A tomato and cream sauce flavored with sweet, salty pancetta.

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Chef John’s Penne with Vodka Sauce

Discover what a splash of vodka can do for creamy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States