Penne a la Vodka II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 13, 2010
I took the advice of others and used crushed tomatoes and only one cup of cream and this was pretty amazing. I can't figure out how some people thought it was bland.. because it was far from that when I made it. Besides changing those two things I kept the recipe exactly the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lindenhurst, New York, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
fantastic. I've made this three times and each time it tasted great. I always add a box of perdue chicken strips to add some protein. Also, I use cans of diced tomatoes because I think its easier to mash. Use a couple more cans than asked because I don't think it is enough sauce for a pound of penne
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
I add a hot finger pepper, which I cut up and sautee with the garlic and basil. I also only use half the cream, and let it simmer a little longer than suggested (otherwise it doesn't have near enough flavor). And you'll want to interpret "salt and pepper to taste" rather liberally. Great recipe though. I always make it for guests, who usually request it again next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
I've got to say the first time I tasted Penne a la Vodka I fell in love with it so I decided to find out how to make it. This recipe was nice and simple and I made my own modifications towards it little salt. black pepper and red pepper flakes. I made the sauce to the consistency that I wanted then mixed it together with the penne and grilled chicken while using the remaining half of the heavy cream. The family loved it....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
followed the recipe exactly, but i did add a shake of red pepper flakes to give it a kick. was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaliforniaBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Wales, New York, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
Definitely not quite what I was hoping for. Too creamy, not enough spices. Where are the onions? I had to add them on my own along iwth a lot more sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
So delicious and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by on2mami
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
This recipe is amazing! I added the onions and bacon from the earlier version of this recipe (Penne a la vodka I) and it was delicious! I also added parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by on2mami

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Warwick, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Tasty recipe. I would recommend adding some cooked chicken cut into small pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salem, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
I've made this now about 100 times. Instead of whole peeled tomatoes, I use Fire Roasted diced tomatoes with garlic. I add about 1 tsp red pepper flakes and 1 tsp black & red pepper. I only use 1 cup heavy cream and I use vanilla vodka and it's out of this world!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 240) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Penne and Vodka Sauce

A tomato and cream sauce flavored with sweet, salty pancetta.

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Chef John’s Penne with Vodka Sauce

Discover what a splash of vodka can do for creamy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States