Penne a la Vodka I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
I have tried many many different Penne a la Vodka recipes, and this is by far THE BEST I have yet to encounter! Although I didn't follow the recipe EXACTLY, I would never have thought of making it like this otherwise. I used Center cut bacons (b/c that's what I had in hand, but I realize using regular bacon may be too strong of a flavor, and you cut a lot of fat by using Center cut). I also only use San Marzano Tomato Sauce, or Peeled Tomatoes, because they are less salty and every chef I know recommends them. I also did not use fresh tomatoes because I just happened to miss that part, but it was great nonetheless. As for heavy cream, I never measure the full amount because it's usually too heavy for me, so I just eyeball it for color and my preference in flavor for the heavy cream. Thank you so much for the recipe, I will never have to look up another Penne a la Vodka sauce recipe again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
Left out bakon and used large can diced tomatoes in for fresh. the family loved it. I am going to make this fresh from now on it was so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ellwood City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
I only used about 1/4 the recommended amount of bacon, and found the taste of it overwhelming. Next time, I will leave it out completely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
This was easy and really delicious! I cooked the bacon first but that was my only change. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
Very good recipe. I usually use marinara sauce instead of the tomatoes. Also a little diced green onion along with the yellow is yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Godiva Goddess

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
We really liked this. I like how it uses both fresh and canned tomatoes. I didn't have stewed tomatoes, so I used one 14 oz. can of petite diced and one 14 oz. can of tomato sauce. The bacon added a great flavor. I cut down on the cream and omitted the vodka, since I didn't have any. Served with a baguette and steamed asparagus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
so good my bf and his mom said it was the best they ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
Ok, I will give a five even with a few changes. I loved this sauce, however did end up using a bit more Vodka and adding additional garlic. I also used diced pancetta rather than regular bacon. I added the garlic after I had cooked the onions, ( to avoid burning it.) and along with the garlic added a few pinches of red pepper flakes. In addition I added about a quarter of a cup of fresh grated parmesan along with the cream and crushed tomatoes. ( Omitted the salt alltogether as did not seem to need it with the cheese.) Garnished with more shaved parmesan and lots of fresh basil. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palmer, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
This was very good and very rich. The flavor was excellent. Next time, I'll saute the bacon separately so that it will crisp up. Thank you, Matt and Dave!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon :)

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Choteau, Montana, USA
Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
SO DELICIOUS!!! used 1/2 a red onion and fusilli pasta. cooked the bacon and removed it from skillet along with half the grease. added the bacon back after the addition of the cream. a great dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by notlikeyourmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Penne and Vodka Sauce

A tomato and cream sauce flavored with sweet, salty pancetta.

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Mini Penne with Sweet Peppers and Cheese

Sautéed onions and peppers are tossed with penne pasta, fresh basil, and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States