Penne Russo a la Vodka Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
This dish was good and will definitely make it again. Next time I will reduce the amount of Vodka requested (it was a little too strong for me) and add mushrooms and instead of whole peeled tomatoes, I will try the diced tomatoes with Italian seasonings. Other than that, this recipe is definitely a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Burbank, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
I made this last night, doubled the proscuitto and served it over pappardelle. Absolutely fantastic. Can't wait to make it again. My family LOVED it. Great recipe and extremely easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
I can see myself making this dish on a regular basis; it so easy and the ingredients so simple. My only problem with this dish was adding the cheese at the end before mixing with the pasta. I found that the melting cheese made my toppings of proscuitto, basil, & mushrooms stick and clump together. So I had clumps of delicious toppings tossed with my pasta. Next time, I'll toss the pasta with the sauce and add the cheese while I'm tossing, so it melts onto the pasta, binding toppings with pasta, and not toppings with each other.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by w

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
AWESOME!!! that's all I can say .... I didn't have the fresh basil so I used tomato and basil pasta... excellent!! I made the full recipe and there's only 2 of us so I shared it with the neighbors and we'll both make it again, soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
I made this per instructions. However, it had a "sharp" dominate tomato flavor. Maybe I should have added some sugar? Also, I think I would saute the prosciutto longer...making it almost crisp...before adding the garlic and red pepper. I think with a litte tweaking, this is a 5 star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRANNYFARKLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Liberty, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
This recipe is worth to be tried. It is very tasty! So easy to make and quite good. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
This is a very good base. My changes are; 2 slices off the end of a 1 lb. of bacon, omit the prosciutto (only because I didn't want to drive downtown to the Italian market), whole tomatoes, replace with 1 14oz.can diced tomatoes with garlic and oregano, 2 cups of contadina pizza sauce, 1/4 cup vodka...(I only had 100 proof on hand), 2 shakes oregano powder, 2 shakes dried parsley, 1 4oz. can drained mushroom slices, no added salt. Unbelievable, and I have learned from some of the very best Italians out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb Swanson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Bragg, California, USA
Living In: Cape Coral, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
I will be making this recipe for a date this weekend...but I thought I remind all my fellow culinary friends that you can substitute bacon for the prosciutto. The only difference is that it's not bacon is smoked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COZY CUISINE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
This is better than restaurant quality. Highly recommended recipie. Everyone who tries it wants to know what's my secret.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Penne and Vodka Sauce

A tomato and cream sauce flavored with sweet, salty pancetta.

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Chef John’s Penne with Vodka Sauce

Discover what a splash of vodka can do for creamy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States