Penne Russo a la Vodka Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
Made this recipe for my boyfriend for valentines day... needless to say he loved it and has told me he will never leave me. Only changes were that i added about a 500g (about a pound) of uncooked prawns(peeled and deveined) at the last minute and cooked until they were pink. Also used fettucine rather than penne, but thats just personal choice. A great base for a pasta sauce. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ange Rayner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wyoming, New South Wales, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
This was a great and quick recipe but instead of using heavy cream, I used 1% milk and thickened it with cornstarch. Came out delicous and a lot healthier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
Great! I keep kosher, so the prosciutto was out. Instead, I sauted an onion and 4 oz. of mushrooms before adding the rest of the ingredients. This recipe is simple and delicious and even the kids enjoyed it. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
Incredibly delicious! I made this for dinner when friends stopped by - received rave reviews all the way around! The fresh basil adds a great flavor, as well as the prosciutto. For sure my stand-by "grown up" way of serving pasta....no more boring spaghetti and sauce for us!! Thanks so much for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
Simple to make and very gourmet! I will make this again, but next time I will try only 1/2 tsp of red pepper - it was a little spicy for my husband! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
I love this recipe! It was different and upscale and great for company. I made it with Abby's Chicken Rollatini as another poster recommended with great results. I think next time I will use both recipes together but instead of penne pasta I will use spinach linguine for even more color and effect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISA B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fairfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
I loved this. I agree with some of the other reviews that it would be better with chicken or shrimp also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginger Bryant

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Troy, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
Very good-- I also used diced tomatoes instead and it was delicious. Went really well with crusty bread and a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
I absolutely love pasta dishes- they're my favorite- but this one just didn't really do it for me. I made this exactly as the recipe states except I used a lighter cream in an effort to keep the calories down. I like dishes with some spice/heat but I thought that this one relied to heavily on the red pepper flakes- that was all I could taste and not any of the other ingredients- especially the prosciutto (aside from the texture I couldn't even tell when I had some in my mouth!) All in all I probably won't make this again. I would've given it 3 stars but my boyfriend and my mom both loved it so I compromised with 4 stars. Also- I waited to write my review hoping that it would be good as leftovers but there wasn't much of a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahBeez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gaines, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
This is good enough to have been served in a restaurant. Sooo easy and delicous. I can't wait to serve this to company. Only changes were diced instead of whole tomatoes and used more prosciutto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Penne and Vodka Sauce

A tomato and cream sauce flavored with sweet, salty pancetta.

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Chef John’s Penne with Vodka Sauce

Discover what a splash of vodka can do for creamy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States