Penne Russo a la Vodka Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
Great sauce! Vodka sauces are so easy, but taste like you spent hours. I cut the amount of pasta in half and sauteed three cloves of minced garlic along with about 1/4 cup of finely chopped onion in the olive oil. I added 1/4 tsp. of crushed red pepper flakes along with the vodka. Instead of the whole peeled tomatoes I used a 28 oz. can of chunky crushed tomatoes plus an 8 oz. can of tomato sauce. After adding the crushed tomatoes & sauce I added the fresh basil, 1/4 tsp. of oregano, 1 tsp. of parsley, 1/2 tsp. of salt and 2 tsp. of sugar. I used a good vodka and light cream. The grated parmesan made it extra creamy. Instead of the proscuitto, we grilled some chorizo sausage and sliced that up over the penne pasta - poured the sauce over top. Great with a side of garlic bread and a salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2010
I always cook a recipe as it is written the first time. Although I cooked this as is and enjoyed it, I think I will make a few modifications next time. I didn't like the flavor of the prosciutto at all. I would substitute Italian sausage the next time. I also thought the whole tomatoes were rather a pain. I had to use my potato masher to break them up as 18 minutes of cooking didn't do it. We still ended up with some rather stringy chunks of tomato. The next time I'll try crushed tomatoes. Other than that it was very good. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Binghamton, New York, USA
Living In: Johnson City, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
This was easy to make and tasty! We served with Abby's Chicken Rollatini (also good) as a side dish. This could be the main course though :) I typically don't love cream-based sauces but this has a good flavor and just the right creaminess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Awesome! Made exactly as written. So easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sunset Hills, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
I just made this and it's sooooo good! I was a little scared when I put in the vodka because I could really smell it (never cooked with it before), but it mixes in great and by the end there's no trace of it. The dish is delicious (not to mention ridiculously easy & fast - I'm e beginner cook)! I was looking for a change from the good old shrimp alfredo, and this is delicious! Thank you!!! P.S.: I'm waiting for my boyfriend to come home, but I really just wana eat NOW! LoL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
The best penne a la vodka I ever had, even my husband said so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
One of the best pastas I've ever made. If anything, I'd do a little more sauce per pasta since it's a tiny bit dry on reheating. Otherwise, the flavor is just amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
I have tried several other vodka sauce recipes and this is by far my favorite. I've used it about a dozen times and each time it is a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
Very good! Maybe omit the red pepper, it really can add some heat for those more picky. But very easy dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kati Foster

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2009
Loved this recipe! Quck, easy and tasty. I took this to a pot luck and everyone loved it. I would use chopped tomatoes the next time however as I ended up cutting up the whole tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mathgirl64

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Long Neck, Delaware, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Penne and Vodka Sauce

A tomato and cream sauce flavored with sweet, salty pancetta.

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Chef John’s Penne with Vodka Sauce

Discover what a splash of vodka can do for creamy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States