Penne Russo a la Vodka Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
Great sauce! Vodka sauces are so easy, but taste like you spent hours. I cut the amount of pasta in half and sauteed three cloves of minced garlic along with about 1/4 cup of finely chopped onion in the olive oil. I added 1/4 tsp. of crushed red pepper flakes along with the vodka. Instead of the whole peeled tomatoes I used a 28 oz. can of chunky crushed tomatoes plus an 8 oz. can of tomato sauce. After adding the crushed tomatoes & sauce I added the fresh basil, 1/4 tsp. of oregano, 1 tsp. of parsley, 1/2 tsp. of salt and 2 tsp. of sugar. I used a good vodka and light cream. The grated parmesan made it extra creamy. Instead of the proscuitto, we grilled some chorizo sausage and sliced that up over the penne pasta - poured the sauce over top. Great with a side of garlic bread and a salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2005
The whole family gobbled this up! I doubled the prosciutto (wanted to use it up), and omitted the red pepper flakes for fear it would be too spicy for the children. I reduced the tomato mixture quite a bit before adding the vodka and cream (used fat free 1/2&1/2)...probably 15-20 minutes. I also added 2 Tbsp capers and 1/4 frozen peas when I added the vodka and cream. I also made this with whole wheat penne. I did not add the basil as directed because of picky children, so I just topped the adults bowl with a few chopped basil leaves. A definite repeater in this house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JuiceMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
I can see myself making this dish on a regular basis; it so easy and the ingredients so simple. My only problem with this dish was adding the cheese at the end before mixing with the pasta. I found that the melting cheese made my toppings of proscuitto, basil, & mushrooms stick and clump together. So I had clumps of delicious toppings tossed with my pasta. Next time, I'll toss the pasta with the sauce and add the cheese while I'm tossing, so it melts onto the pasta, binding toppings with pasta, and not toppings with each other.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by w

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2006
I really liked this recipe, although I modified it using what I had in the house. I left out the heavy cream, used white wine instead of vodka, angel hair instead of penne, and added more italian spices (oregano, thyme, etc). I liked it a lot... it turned out more like an arrabiata sauce, but it had a lot fewer calories, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2004
THIS WAS VERY GOOD----A KEEPER. I HAVE MADE TOMATO/VODKA SAUCE BEFORE, BUT THIS IS THE BEST. I ALSO MUST ADD THAT I NEVER CHANGE A RECIPE THE FIRST TIME I TRY IT. I DID WITH THIS TO ADD SOME MEAT WITH IT. INSTEAD OF THE PROSCIUTTO, [WHICH WE REALLY DON'T LIKE] I BROWNED 6 WINE & CHEESE ITALIAN SAUSAGES & CONTINUED WITH THE SAME PAN, [DEGLAZING WHEN ADDING THE TOMATOES] & THE REST OF THE INGREDIENTS. HOWEVER, I REMOVED THE SAUSAGES & SLICED THEM UP. WHEN ALL WAS DONE, I JUST TOSSED THEM INTO THE SAUCE BEFORE POURING OVER THE PENNE. DEEEEEEEELISH! PROBABLY NOT AS IMPRESSIVE LOOKING IF SERVING TO COMPANY, BUT TRY IT FOR THE FAMILY---VERY PLEASING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JACKIE2830

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Cheektowaga, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
This is a very good base. My changes are; 2 slices off the end of a 1 lb. of bacon, omit the prosciutto (only because I didn't want to drive downtown to the Italian market), whole tomatoes, replace with 1 14oz.can diced tomatoes with garlic and oregano, 2 cups of contadina pizza sauce, 1/4 cup vodka...(I only had 100 proof on hand), 2 shakes oregano powder, 2 shakes dried parsley, 1 4oz. can drained mushroom slices, no added salt. Unbelievable, and I have learned from some of the very best Italians out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb Swanson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Bragg, California, USA
Living In: Cape Coral, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
This is better than restaurant quality. Highly recommended recipie. Everyone who tries it wants to know what's my secret.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2003
Another winner from Marianne (try her Tropical Salad too, folks). Thank you Marianne! My Italian husband, who loves rich pasta dishes, swooned over this. I used cooked bacon for the proscuitto and reduced the amt. of cheese a little bit. This is a great "treat" recipe, definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2002
Incredible flavor and very easy to make, perfect for a crowd. Everyone loved it. I substituted half and half and cut down on the parmesan and it was still fantastic. This one is going right into the surefire-hit file!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie LaBarba

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2002
This recipe was excellent. It tasted like something you order from a restaurant. Adding chicken or shrimp makes this meal even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Penne and Vodka Sauce

A tomato and cream sauce flavored with sweet, salty pancetta.

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Chef John’s Penne with Vodka Sauce

Discover what a splash of vodka can do for creamy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States