Penne Russo a la Vodka Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
Made this recipe for my boyfriend for valentines day... needless to say he loved it and has told me he will never leave me. Only changes were that i added about a 500g (about a pound) of uncooked prawns(peeled and deveined) at the last minute and cooked until they were pink. Also used fettucine rather than penne, but thats just personal choice. A great base for a pasta sauce. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ange Rayner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wyoming, New South Wales, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
This was a great and quick recipe but instead of using heavy cream, I used 1% milk and thickened it with cornstarch. Came out delicous and a lot healthier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
Great! I keep kosher, so the prosciutto was out. Instead, I sauted an onion and 4 oz. of mushrooms before adding the rest of the ingredients. This recipe is simple and delicious and even the kids enjoyed it. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
Incredibly delicious! I made this for dinner when friends stopped by - received rave reviews all the way around! The fresh basil adds a great flavor, as well as the prosciutto. For sure my stand-by "grown up" way of serving pasta....no more boring spaghetti and sauce for us!! Thanks so much for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
Simple to make and very gourmet! I will make this again, but next time I will try only 1/2 tsp of red pepper - it was a little spicy for my husband! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
I love this recipe! It was different and upscale and great for company. I made it with Abby's Chicken Rollatini as another poster recommended with great results. I think next time I will use both recipes together but instead of penne pasta I will use spinach linguine for even more color and effect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISA B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fairfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
I loved this. I agree with some of the other reviews that it would be better with chicken or shrimp also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginger Bryant

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Troy, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
Very good-- I also used diced tomatoes instead and it was delicious. Went really well with crusty bread and a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
I absolutely love pasta dishes- they're my favorite- but this one just didn't really do it for me. I made this exactly as the recipe states except I used a lighter cream in an effort to keep the calories down. I like dishes with some spice/heat but I thought that this one relied to heavily on the red pepper flakes- that was all I could taste and not any of the other ingredients- especially the prosciutto (aside from the texture I couldn't even tell when I had some in my mouth!) All in all I probably won't make this again. I would've given it 3 stars but my boyfriend and my mom both loved it so I compromised with 4 stars. Also- I waited to write my review hoping that it would be good as leftovers but there wasn't much of a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahBeez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gaines, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
This is good enough to have been served in a restaurant. Sooo easy and delicous. I can't wait to serve this to company. Only changes were diced instead of whole tomatoes and used more prosciutto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Penne and Vodka Sauce

A tomato and cream sauce flavored with sweet, salty pancetta.

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Chef John’s Penne with Vodka Sauce

Discover what a splash of vodka can do for creamy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States