Penne Russo a la Vodka Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
I followed the directions to the t. I suggest leaving out the crushed red peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
Have been wanting to try this recipe for awhile, and finally did tonight. Oh. My. Goodness. Delicious!! And just in case anyone wonders whether or not roasted red peppers could substitute for the canned tomatoes (because that was all I had on hand, believe it or not), the answer is a resounding yes! Thanks so much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
Yum Yum Yum delish and EASY made it for company and they raved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lydia Pollina Knipper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
This is an excellent and easy to make dish. I used diced tomatoes instead of whole peeled. I also chopped up a zucchini and added it in there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
Interesting flavor. Used exact ingredients listed. Would have like slightly thicker sauce, may try to reduce further next time -- was worried it would scorch this time. Tip: remove pan from heat and sprinkle in a spoon full of parmesan at a time to prevent clumping. Curious to see how leftovers reheat tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
This was my first time making Vodka sauce....Loved this recipe.....I didnt have prosciutto so i used bacon instead....i increased the garlic to 5 cloves (big garlic fans in my house) i used Absolut Vodka with mine.... i didnt have fresh basil which i think would have put this over the top. i used a Tsp and half italian herb seasoning. i also used diced tomatoes instead of stew tomatoes....also which i think is KEY is i let this simmer for about 45 minutes.....then let it cool for about 30 minutes and then placed it in the food processor and pulsed it!!!! never put hot liquid in food processor!!!!! i did everything else the same with the recipe..... My daughter couldn't put the dish down! Loved it!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Harrison, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
This recipe had good flavor. My only concern was that the parmesan cheese did not melt in to the dish but rather clumped up. I am not sure that I did everything right, but I thought I followed the recipe pretty well. It was still tasty thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wmsmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Great recipe! I did a few changes... I didn't cook the whole box of pasta. 3/4 is enough for the sauce amount. I used (2) 14oz cans of crushed tomato and (1) 8 oz can of tomato sauce. 1 small onion. Added about 1/2 Tablespoon of sugar while simmering and used panchetta(available at publix or italian speciality stores) instead of prosciutto. Lastly, I fried about 3 chopped slices of panchetta till it was crispy and sprinkled on top of pasta when serving. DELICIOUS! will definitley make again, my fiance loved it. One other tip.. simmer for 15 minutes with all ingredients(including basil) and then add vodka, simmer 15 more min, then cream and parm cheese, simmer 10 min. PERFECTION!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
One of the best dinners i have ever made!!!! i totaly recommend.. easy for 1st time cooks!!! great great great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Penne and Vodka Sauce

A tomato and cream sauce flavored with sweet, salty pancetta.

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Chef John’s Penne with Vodka Sauce

Discover what a splash of vodka can do for creamy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States