Penne Pasta with Veggies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
This dish was delicious with some minor changes to fit my family's preferences - there was not a drop left! I omitted the prosciutto and sun-dried tomatoes, but substituted sliced italian sausage and regular tomatoes, minus the seeds and juice. I used frozen steam-in-the-bag asparagus, added mushrooms and squash, too. Cut way down on the butter, but used a little more olive oil. I used shredded parmesan cheese instead of grated to give it a deeper flavor. Like another reviewer, I see no reason to bake it... next time I won't! If you do choose to bake it, I would put a little chicken broth at the bottom of the pan to keep it from drying out and bake it at a lower temperature (I used 300) for a shorter period of time (15 min). My kids raved about this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LukesMommy
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
Tweeked it a bit...but either way was good! No butter...only EVOO. Added mushrooms, omitted zucchini and broccoli. Used cherry tomatoes in place of sun-dried tomatoes. Also used Feta cheese instead of parmesan. Very light and healthy. Tasted even better! This is a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LukesMommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Robesonia, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
My husband said multiple times how he liked this dish, which makes me very happy! I swapped bacon in for the prosciutto. I cooked the bacon, took it out of the pan, and then cooked the garlic and sundried tomatoes in the drippings. I did not use any butter. Other than that I followed the rest of the recipe. We liked the crunchiness the baking gave to the pasta and we liked all the sundried tomatoes. Next time I might increase the amount of broccoli and/or zucchini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2013
This recipe is good only if you make major changes. I made it as it stands, except for the butter. Even though i LOVE butter, it just seemed to be way too much. And it would have been. As it was, after baking it was too greasy and the vegetables limp and tasteless. It would have been much better if I had simply served it after combining everything. At that point, the veggies still had some crunch and the parmesan hadn't separated making the pastagreasy.I cut the butter to 2T and that was plenty. Three-fourths of a cup of butter turns a relatively healthful meal into one swimming in fat. I will probably make a version of this in the future, but with more vegetables and some fresh tomatoes. I liked the sun-dried tomatoes, but good ones are expensive and why bother when you can get flavorful cherry or grape tomatoes. Fresh basil would be good as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Pretty Solid recipe. If baking in the oven it feels like it needs more cheese. A little oily, was unclear if I was supposed to drain the sun-dried tomatoes. I'll make a few changes next time, but will still use it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
I made this for a potluck, and actually, everyone loved it, but I made some revisions: I had to use pre-cooked bacon because prosciutto isn't available where I live, also, I thought it would become really soggy if I put it in the butter/tomato mixture, so I just mixed the bacon and some extra minced garlic right into the veggies and pasta before tossing them with the butter/tomato mixture. Which brings me to the butter--it's too much. Next time, I will use only 1/4 cup of butter mixed with most of the oil from the sun-dried tomatoes. Oh, I just read other reviews and realized I was not alone in thinking it was too much butter and needed some of the sun-dried tomato oil!! Anyway, it was delicious when those changes were made! Next time, I want to put in pine nuts and maybe even some pesto...definitely some fresh basil! Oh, ps, I used gluten free pasta and it worked fine...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: Camp Zama, Kanagawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
This is a delicious fresh recipe. Since my boyfriend is vegetarian, I simply omitted the prosciutto. I roasted the veggies in a bit of olive oil in an iron skillet (great for blackening). After removing the veggies I then added only about 1/3 cup of butter and a tablespoon or so of olive oil to the pan, along with halved grape tomatoes and minced garlic to create the sauce. I used a little under a lb of pasta and a 5oz container of parmesan. I also covered the pasta while baking like other readers suggested. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
Love this dish! I used fresh tomatoes and 1/2 a box of whole wheat penne pasta. Didn't have prosciutto so I used 2 slices of Canadian bacon. My husband and I both enjoyed this meal and will make it again. I like the fact that I was able to use my garden red bell pepper and I love zucchini. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Schertz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
one word - delish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
This is a very good pasta dish, and the flavors of the vegetables really shine. There isn't any need to drown the vegetables in herbs and spices, but I do think some red pepper flakes would be delicious and add a nice kick. Still, it was yummy just as written also. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

Penne Pasta with Peas and Prosciutto

See how to make tasty and inexpensive pasta with peas and white beans.

Penne Spring Pasta

A gorgeously green spring pasta with asparagus, peas, and fresh mint.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States