Penne Pasta with Spinach and Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
This was okay, seemed to be missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
OMG this is soooo good! The flavor's blend so well it's amazing. Like most other people I added to the recipe according to our tastes and what I had on hand. Hubby had seconds and would have eaten more if his stomach would have allowed. I used spiral noodles because it's what I had on hand. I also sauted an onion, some diced green bell peppers, 1 1/2 tsp. minced garlic (from a jar) in a little bacon grease until onions were clear. Then I added a jar of diced artichoke hearts, my diced cooked bacon and I partially drained two jars of my home canned tomatoes and added them as well and seasoned with some salt and pepper. I simmered this until my noodles were tender. Meanwhile I washed and rinsed a whole bag of fresh spinach then added them to my simmering vegetable mixture and turned the stove off. Once the noodles had been drained I mixed it all together and the spinach wilted perfectly just from the heat of both the vegetables and the noodles. Added more salt and pepper to taste. Next time I'm going to also add some sliced fresh mushrooms. I can see that this would also be good adding some diced roast chicken in it too. We tried it with and without added parmesan cheese on top and we liked it better without the cheese. Thanks Jean for sharing this wonderful recipe with the rest of us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
So easy and so delicious! Followed the recipe exactly and had no complaints... Husband and 19 month old loved it too! It's more of light pasta even though it has bacon in it but still filling... Anything with bacon in it is great in our family! " keep calm & eat bacon. "
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
Great recipe. Try it with white wine and pancetta (Italian bacon) instead of regular bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Made exactly as written (as everyone should if they're rating). DELICIOUS! My boyfriend went back for a 4th plate and said he was going to go into a food coma! Everyone should taste this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Walton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
I really liked this recipe. I took some of the advice of other posts and used a whole pound of bacon, added an onion to the garlic, and added the spinach to the tomato mixture to wilt it down so it absorbed the flavor. I thought it was really good and will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
We liked this. Since I don't care for canned or fresh tomatoes, I used sun dried. I also added some low fat half and half and sautéed spinach with bacon after the bacon was cooked, as others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
My family and i did not like this. I will not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by torianne31

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harlem, Georgia, USA
Living In: Willow Spring, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
So delightful! Can't wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HurdBird

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
My husband had thirds! And took the leftovers for lunch the next day. I made a few changes; I added an onion to the garlic and tomatoes and used pre-cooked bacon instead. Since I didn't have bacon grease I used chicken broth and a spoonful of butter to cook the onions in. I also did not drain the pasta over the spinach. I added the spinach directly to the sauce at the last minute with the crumbled bacon and tossed it with the pasta immediately. I also added fresh parsley, basil and oregano to the onions when they were cooking. It was delicious! Definitely making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 675) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Creamy Tomato & Tuna Penne Pasta

See a pasta dish that's based loosely on a classic diner lunch combo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States