Penne Pasta with Spinach and Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2015
Love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dinomite

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2015
Sautéed chopped onion with bacon (6 to 8 slices chopped) and garlic. Used canned diced tomatoes with italian seasoning. Added several handfuls of fresh spinach directly to tomato mixture to taste. Added red wine to keep sauce from getting too thick and to taste. .... could use water or red cooking wine. Added salt and pepper to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lila Guadalupe
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2015
i used whole grain pasta n parmesan cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lila Guadalupe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2015
My family thought this recipe was very tasty. I did add sliced mushrooms to make it more filling and thought it was great. I also used a fresh tomato instead of canned. I didn't notice the bacon in it, and think it would be just as good without. I might try Italian sausage next time instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2015
This was good, but prefer my one-pot pasta recipe which is tastier and easier. Probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne Howell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winterset, Iowa, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2015
Like many of the other reviewers, I too found this easy to modify. I used fresh tomatoes, sauteed with onions and garlic (lots of garlic for me) and slowly simmered it all together. I DID like the idea of wilting the spinach by pouring the pasta over it while hot. I used a fancy, striped, bow tie pasta just for fun. THIS is a great "first" recipe for new cooks and definitely a keeper to pass on. I can think of 100 ways to modify it as you see what's in the fridge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2015
Not bad, but the spinach didn't really add much. I suggest that you make the bacon first, then remove it from the pan to crisp up. Make other ingredients separately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2015
I cooked the bacon and cut up the night before. Used to fresh plum tomatoes instead of canned. I thought it was very good. Easy to make. Next time I might add some black olives. 4 stars only because the left- overs didn't taste as good as the first time around. recipe says it makes 8 servings but it was so good we only got 6 out of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne Johnson
Home Town: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2015
Just tried it. My Italian husband loved it. Did add onion and some red pepper flakes. Next time might make sauce a little earlier to allow the pepper flakes to add some zing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2015
I always doctor any recipe with any fresh herbs I grow. We eat very little Bacon, so I would use Canadian Bacon.......yes I know the fat makes it tasty, so not having the fat, use olive oil and spices you like, herbs. I think this would be great with sauteed Asparagus, Spinach, fresh tomato's from your garden. What a great idea. Then some good cheese grated on top? I like Parmesan cheese. or sharp Cheddar, maybe both........have fun with your food! Duana Hoffhines
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duana Hoffhines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 705) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Creamy Tomato & Tuna Penne Pasta

See a pasta dish that's based loosely on a classic diner lunch combo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States