Penne Pasta with Spinach and Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
This was a huge hit at my house :) Just made little changes, cook the bacon first and emptied the drippings, cooked the spinach in with the oil, garlic and tomato, added some mushrooms and sprinkled with some parmesan. Gosh this was really good :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by food4me

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
OMG!! This is easy, yummy, and cheap to make..I did use the whole pound of bacon, chopped fresh tomatoes (6 romas), and I didn't have any spinach on hand..so I left it out...GREAT dish!! It went really well with the London Broil I bar-b-qued! Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mello2u

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Carson City, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
I want to give this a 3.5 star rating, and with fresh home grown tomato's this is an easy 4 starer. It is light and satisfying. I suggest not using any oil to cook the bacon in, add some parm and black cheese to take this to the next level.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
Loved this! I wilted the spinach in 2 Tablespoons of bacon grease and like other reviewers added the bacon at the end so that it was crisp. Will be making again very soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
Tried this one out tonight. It was sooooooo good! Even my picky eaters scarfed it down! I did 9 slices of bacon instead of 6, and 16 oz of pasta. I also mostly drained the bacon and removed the bacon, garlic, tomato and then cooked the spinach in that pan before tossing it all together, rather than wilting the spinach with the pasta water. I think this might be good with or in addition to chicken, or even add some mushrooms, and/or peas. Might even be good with Tuna or Salmon. Or, you could even add to the bacon, or replace it, with canellini (white kidney) beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
I've made this several times and love it every time. I go ahead and use the whole pound of bacon... the more the better. I also throw in a couple of tablespoons of cream cheese at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Wow. This was great. I used thick pepper bacon and added more than the recipe called for. Since I used extra bacon I took some of the bacon grease out. Unfortunately extra bacon makes extra grease. For the pasta I used Barilla Plus Penne Pasta. I served it with garlic bread and passed a grater and block of Parmesan Reggiano around the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
This recipe was awesome! I varied a bit with ingredients by using Italian sausage instead of bacon, added some finely minced shallot to the garlic and threw quite a few artichokes in their oil instead of using the second tbs of olive oil. Once it was all combined I topped with an Italian cheese blend I had in the fridge, covered the pan and let it melt. The whole meal was finished in 15 minutes!! Thanks for a fabulous inspiration and idea!! Looked and tasted like something I slaved over, this one is going in the books!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
KC* uses 8 oz. penne, 4 slices bacon, 10 oz. pkd frozen chopped spinach, 1 cup finely chopped onion, 3/4 cup dry white wine and 1 10 oz. container light Alfredo sauce. Cook bacon, then onion in bacon drippings Add wine and stir to partly evaporate the wine. Add drained spinach and alfredo to skillet. Add pasta and bacon and mix. Parmesan would be good on this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
Tried this the other day and it was incredible! Everyone loved it. I did double the bacon, because I couldn't resist... :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 666) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Penne Spring Pasta

A gorgeously green spring pasta with asparagus, peas, and fresh mint.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States