Penne Pasta with Spinach and Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
Awesome as given! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BP3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waterville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
A family favorite! I use almost a pound of bacon and a whole box of penne with two cans of diced tomatoes for my large family. I add shaved parmesean at the end and then offer it to sprinkle at the table. This is sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
We loved it - we even added in some mushrooms and some fresh basil the second time around to give it our own twist. I think a lot of the low reviews saying "Noodle heavy" you're not looking at how much you're adding, you see 1 Bag and assume it's 12oz, while MOST pasta is actually sold in 2-3x that quantity. Please be careful when you are measuring things. We do 1/2 of a 900g bag of pasta which is just over the 12oz. And don't drain your bacon. I know what you're thinking - just don't. You lose a lot of flavour doing that. You don't need to add anything into your bacon to cook it. Bacon + pan + low heat. It won't stick, you won't need to add oil because as it heats up the fat cooks out. Then when you add in everything else it blends and mixes. The bacon ended up being so tender and everything was wonderful. I agree with other reviewer. You can't complain about a recipe if you've changed most of it to your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
My family really liked this....a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovelygrl222
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
Really great and simple recipe! I followed another reviewer's suggestions to change it up a little bit. I used an entire package of bacon (about 1 lb) and removed as much fat as possible while chopping it up. Add in a small onion or half an onion to accompany the garlic. When adding the diced tomatoes to the batch I also added the spinach to cook it more than just a slight wilt underneath the cooked pasta. The other reviewer added in dried basil, it really made a difference! Once everything was mixed I topped it off with parmesan cheese and crushed red pepper. Next time I make this I'm adding another bunch of spinach for sure, that's how much I love spinach. There are definitely a ton of different ways to make this a bit different and still very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovelygrl222

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Im giving the recipe 4 stars as wrote but with a few minor changes it's easily a 5 star recipe! I add onion with the garlic and I also add Italian seasoning and then I add the spinch to the bacon and tomatoes to wilt it that way. We like to add a bit of parmesan cheese to the top. You can serve this as a meal or as a side dish. And it goes well with Chicken, fish, pork, and beef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erikagee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
I just made this dish for dinner tonight. I added mushrooms, onions, and topped with fresh shaved parmesean cheese. I also added some thyme and red pepper flakes. My husband thought it was great, but I have to say thought it was kinda bland. Not sure if I'll make it again....unless my husband specifically requests it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Great Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I love that the preparation and ingredients are so simple, but did not think it had much flavor. Also, both my husband and I had a stomach ache later that night - maybe from the bacon grease?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
I really enjoyed this recipe and followed it mostly. I used truffle oil to mix it and used a little home made alfredo sauce to just give it an extra kick. I think next time adding roasted red peppers and an onion might make it even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
Not sure what I did wrong but based on all of the positive reviews, it must've been me. Followed directions exactly but found it to be unappealing. Too overpoweringlly spinachy with no other noticeably flavors (not even the bacon stood out). Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OneBiteRule

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 669) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Penne Spring Pasta

A gorgeously green spring pasta with asparagus, peas, and fresh mint.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States