Penne Pasta with Spinach and Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
Bland. Very Boring
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
added spicy seasoned shrimp. very light and very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
I live in China right now and most of the recipes on this site are hard to make because I can't find the ingredients here. BUT, with this recipe I finally was able to find most of the ingredients (substituted canned tomatoes for cherry tomatoes), it was quick and easy to prepare and I had a meal in less than 1/2 hour! I also could not find penne pasta, so I substituted for spaghetti. Just as good. Thanks for this awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Wonderful! This one is a keeper! Purposely got diced tomatoes with italian seasonings. Just chopped up the bacon (7 pieces) after it had cooled a little, but still sauted the garlic and then the tomatoes, juice and all, in the bacon grease. THEN added the chopped bacon and poured it over the pasta/spinach mixture. Be sure to drain your pasta water over the spinach (used a bag of baby spinach leaves) already placed in a colander. It wilts it perfectly. Topped each serving with some shredded parmesan cheese. A light but very tasty side....not a lot of ingredients and very easy and quick to prepare! NOTE: My box of pasta was 16 oz so make sure you use only the 12 ounces or the flavor might not be as it should be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Agoura Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Drained most of bacon grease. Sauted onion with garlic, added sliced mushrooms to tomatoes, then the spinach. After adding the cooked pasta, added the crispy bacon back in and topped with feta cheese. Black olives on the side or on the fingers of the kids. Husband, 3 kids and I really enjoyed this and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Very disappointed in this recipe. I followed the recipe - however, had to drain some of the grease from the bacon - who could eat that much grease? The bacon got soggy when I added the tomatoes...Not a keeper for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Erie, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Great to build on. I like to save pans--so, cooked the bowtie pasta and rinsed slightly. Same pan-Browned 12 oz. center cut bacon and some onion; removed but left drippings. Added tomatoes and sliced fresh mushrooms with a dab of butter (for the musthrooms); added organic spinach and when just beginning to wilt, put in pasta (but only half depending on how it gets coated) and it was to die for! Husband loved it and wants it again--soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
Very Good and very easy! I made with whole wheat penne pasta and turkey bacon and omitted the oil. Very tasty and relatively healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
We all LOVED This! (Added mushrooms and a bit more bacon, but basically, followed recipe!) Trying to get some healthier/lighter meals and this one knocked it out of the park!! YUMMO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WICKEDHAZEL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plant City, Florida, USA
Living In: Russellville, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
Fast and fabulous. I didn't have any bacon so I substituted in prosciutto instead. Still turned out amazing. I also mixed the spinach with the sauce mixture instead of straining the pasta over it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 672) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Creamy Tomato & Tuna Penne Pasta

See a pasta dish that's based loosely on a classic diner lunch combo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States