Penne Pasta with Spinach and Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Great to build on. I like to save pans--so, cooked the bowtie pasta and rinsed slightly. Same pan-Browned 12 oz. center cut bacon and some onion; removed but left drippings. Added tomatoes and sliced fresh mushrooms with a dab of butter (for the musthrooms); added organic spinach and when just beginning to wilt, put in pasta (but only half depending on how it gets coated) and it was to die for! Husband loved it and wants it again--soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
Very Good and very easy! I made with whole wheat penne pasta and turkey bacon and omitted the oil. Very tasty and relatively healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
We all LOVED This! (Added mushrooms and a bit more bacon, but basically, followed recipe!) Trying to get some healthier/lighter meals and this one knocked it out of the park!! YUMMO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WICKEDHAZEL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plant City, Florida, USA
Living In: Russellville, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
Fast and fabulous. I didn't have any bacon so I substituted in prosciutto instead. Still turned out amazing. I also mixed the spinach with the sauce mixture instead of straining the pasta over it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
We all loved it, even my son who isn't a fan of spinach. I did like some others and didn't use the olive oil since the bacon had enough moisture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
This was good, but needed some flavor. I used precooked bacon slices. I added the garlic in with the tomatoes and simmered them a bit. Just before serving I threw in the spinach to let it wilt. I also added a couple of dashes of red pepper flakes, a little salt and pepper, and Italian style cheese blend on the top. THEN it was really yummy!! I could eat the tomato/bacon mixture all by itself :) Thank you for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SoccerMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
Loved this recipe. Cooked bacon, drained and then added garlic and a medium onion sliced very fine. Sauted for a couple fo minutes and then added about 2 tsp italian seasoning and 2 cans of tomatos for extra sauce. As tomatos heated stired in spinach and then as others suggested added 1 cup of parmesan cheese. Tossed pasta with sauce and my husband and I both agreed we would be hard pressed to find something this good at a restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
Fabulous! Very easy, very tasty! Used garlic and basil diced tomatoes and parm cheese on top! Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
Followed recipe plus a few extra pieces of bacon, and this was fabulous!! I used an entire 7 oz container of baby spinach and didn't bother tearing it up, wilting process takes care of it for you. My two young girls LOVED it. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
I used this as a starting point and was using veggies I had, too. I added sauteed mushrooms and onions. I only had frozen spinach. Overall, EXCELLENT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 666) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Penne Spring Pasta

A gorgeously green spring pasta with asparagus, peas, and fresh mint.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States