Penne Pasta with Cannellini Beans and Escarole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
This ended up pretty boring after I made all my changes. I skipped the greens, added onion and garlic, Sully liked the beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
This was delicious, I did saute garlic and onios and instead of escarole, I used spinach. I didn't think that it was as good the second night, it tasted better when the pasta and beans were firmer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen McCleane Mullin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlantic City, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
Very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
I added the pasta al dente and served it as a soup. A little crushed red pepper and topped with some fresh parmesian cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
Wow, what an easy recipe which is full of flavor. My family loved it and thought they were back in Italy. A definite winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
I sauted some fresh minced garlic and chopped onion in some olive oil as suggested by some other reviewers. Also, I only used 8 oz of pasta and it was plenty. I think a whole pound would have been way too much. I've never cooked with escarole before and I'm not sure I liked it all that much. If I make this again, I think I would use spinach instead. I didn't use the liquid from the beans, but added some water and chicken broth granules. This was okay, but not spectacular. I did feel like I was eating a healthy meal, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
I'm normally not a pasta eater but I have been counting calories lately and made this simply based on the low calories. I ended up loving it and am finding that eating healthy is not so bad! I did add more garlic and some crushed red pepper. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
This recipe was awesome. I cooked a little garlic and onion in a bit of olive oil before I added the escarole and other ingredients. I also used about half of the juice from the can of tomatoes with garlic and onion. I loved it and we will continue to make this again and again. This recipe should get 5 stars alone on how easy it is to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gracie&gabrielsmommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
I am normally a pasta fan but found this recipe to be really bland. And I think that it was almost a little "gritty" to my taste. We added extra onion and garlic but still found it to be bland. I don't think this is on the list to make again - too many other good recipes to try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: North Huntingdon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
Not very good flavor. Tried to save it from the start based on other reviews by adding more seasonings including red pepper flakes. The problem may be too much pasta in relation to other ingredients. On the plus side, it was cheap and easy..and the possums liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

Penne Pasta with Peas and Prosciutto

See how to make tasty and inexpensive pasta with peas and white beans.

Creamy Tomato & Tuna Penne Pasta

See a pasta dish that's based loosely on a classic diner lunch combo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States