Penne Pasta with Cannellini Beans and Escarole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
This was just okay. However, it was very simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Findlay, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
This was really interesting. I would have never thought to put beans in a pasta dish. I used a clove of garlic and added some bit sized chunks of chicken breast and it was a hit. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happychef211

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
This was horrible. I sauteed an onion and a few garlic cloves added the escarole. I cooked the cannellini beans in some chicken broth (about 1 cup) because some reviewers commented on the beans being too hard. I added the tomatoes to the onion/garlic mixture tossed in the beans with the broth and tossed it all with the pasta. I'm not sure what it was. But the beans and pasta mixture was gross. I really expected more from this recipe and even with my additions it was way too bland. We like a little more flavor in our food. I feel like I wasted some good escarole on this recipe. I added a ton of red pepper flakes and parmesan cheese just to get thru eating it. Won't make again. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paslea1987

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by SunFlower
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
I love escarole and I was expecting a lot from this recipe. I was disappointed by the blandness and dryness of the dish. It was ok but I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunFlower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charleroi, Hainaut, Belgium
Living In: Jette, Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
My family really likes this recipe and it is so quick and easy that it has become part of the regular rotation. Instead of escarole I use fresh spinach leaves, because I usually have them on hand. I also add fresh garlic, basil and Italian seasoning. I garnish with some crumbled feta. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sparkles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
WILL USE THIS AGAIN THE ONLY CHANGE I MADE WAS TO ADD CRUSHED RED PEPPER LIKE ALOT OF OTHER REVIEWERS.THANKS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CNM CATERING

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edgewater Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
great recipe, made this for my family, huge success. I added some chicken stock and crusher red pepper. Also, if you want add a cup of the water from the penne after you have mixed the ingredients, it will add a little juice to dip your bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
I had to add some meat to it for my family, so I added mediteranian seasoned turkey sausage and a package of spinach instead of the escarole. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
This is a very good, simple recipe. I followed it exactly, except I only used 1/2 of a 13oz bag of chopped escarole, which was still plenty. Great for a simple dinner or a side dish - and very healthy, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Binghamton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
I thought this dish was extremely easy to make and very good. I followed to a tee except that the diced tomatoes I purchased were with garlic and olive oil. I also used a much smaller portion or the escarole but I think it's easy to eye-ball how much is needed. Very quick, wonderful side dish. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

Penne Pasta with Peas and Prosciutto

See how to make tasty and inexpensive pasta with peas and white beans.

Creamy Tomato & Tuna Penne Pasta

See a pasta dish that's based loosely on a classic diner lunch combo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States