Penne Pasta with Cannellini Beans and Escarole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
My family loved this. It tasted really good and was low in calories. I tried some of the other commentors' suggestions and they really added to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by casedilla

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
I have made this when I can find escarole and it is very good. A bean and escarole dish should taste like beans and escarole. If you don't like beans and escarole don't make this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkton, Maryland, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
Unfortunately, we didn't like this so much. It really didn't have much flavor - it just tasted like beans and escarole. I shouldn't have been surprised given so few ingredients, but I did add red pepper and some parmesan cheese and it was still pretty bland, although the red pepper did help. Usually we take leftovers to work, but we threw this out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cat Lady Cyndi
Reviewed: May 21, 2009
This is so delicious!! I did make a few changes though. I used a generous amount of olive oil and four cloves of garlic first in the pan, and sauteed for a few minutes. Then I added the escarole and let it wilt a bit, then added the tomatoes and beans with some crushed red pepper, parmesan cheese, Italian seasoning, salt & pepper. I let it all simmer about 15-20 minutes. I will definitely be making this again, maybe next time adding some sliced mushrooms too. Thanks for the recipe, this is wonderful (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2009
Made this for dinner tonight, as I wanted something high in fiber, but delicious... and it delivered! I used whole wheat penne to add more fiber, and like other reviewers, added a couple sprinkles of red pepper flakes just because I like a little extra heat, and this was delicious. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
I subbed fresh spinach for escarole, and I rinsed and drained the beans and subbed 2 ladles of pasta water, I figured this would reduce the sodium! The kids liked it, even brought leftovers to school for lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryAnne aka Anne's daughter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Clinton, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
This recipe gets 4 stars for being easy and healthy. It tasted pretty good for everyday, but not a "company" meal. I didn't have escarole on hand, so I used frozen chopped spinach instead, added extra garlic, and we also sprinkled with parmesan cheese. I don't know if the flavor would have been better with escarole, but the spinach was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
I was skeptical of this at first. But I was looking for a meatless dinner option during Lent and tried this. It surprised me! Definately sautee some minced garlic in olive oil before adding the other ingredients. I also stir in some grated parmesean cheese to the whole thing before serving. Even better the next day (after all of the flavors have a chance to blend!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
This recipe is quick, easy and satisfying, all the things that I look for in a recipe. I like a little kick to my meals, so instead of salt and black pepper to taste, I added crushed red pepper. Just the thing on a cold winter day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
I didnt like this at all. I thought that there was hardly any real flavor, the textures were weird and the escarole a bit too bitter. I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

Penne Pasta with Peas and Prosciutto

See how to make tasty and inexpensive pasta with peas and white beans.

Creamy Tomato & Tuna Penne Pasta

See a pasta dish that's based loosely on a classic diner lunch combo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States