Penne Pasta with Cannellini Beans and Escarole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
great recipe followed it as written the first time. the second time I used fired roasted tomatoes, came out even better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Very good. I followed the other reviewers' suggestions and sauteed garlic in olive oil before adding the other ingredients, and then adding a pinch of red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josephine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Queens, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
This dish was simple, colorful, and delicious. I also added some garlic to the escarole. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
This is a typical Italian peasant dish full of flavor and easy to make I substituted the can of diced tomatoes with onion and garlic for about three good size tomatoes and about a third of a good size onion and garlic. Whoever said this was a bland dish didn't make it correctly! It is a staple in my New York Italian family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
I tried this recipe because I was given a large head of escarole. I'm not crazy about escarole, but I didn't want to turn down fresh food. I've tried this recipe and one other bean and escarole recipe on this website. Both are "okay." I give the recipe 4 stars because I'm not going to fault the cook if I don't love escarole. The recipe was lacking a little something and I threw in a bit of sauted onion and garlic. But I like how the flavors come together and will probably make this recipe again if I'm given free escarole again. However, if you're looking for a recipe that's going to make you fall in love with escarole, this isn't quite it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
Easy, and woderful flavor. great if you are on a diet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Barnegat, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
I couldn't find escarole anywhere and didn't know a substitute so I got collard greens and they seemed to work fine. I added a little garlic at the beginning and a few shakes of red pepper flakes and topped it with fresh grated Romano like a lot of the other reviewers recommended. It still seemed lack it was lacking some flavor, but I'm not sure what I'd try next time. But I think I will definitely try this one again, but next time with a little more experimentation...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
This is a good base recipe. I also sauteed about 3 cloves of garlic in a olive oil. Added red pepper, oregano, basil and parsley. I also let it simmer for about 20 minutes to thicken the sauce and fully cook the escarole which I didn't chopped fine enough. Topped with pecorino romano cheese. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Haven, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Port Jervis, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
i enjoyed, but not a good choice for the husband who desires meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by messy chestnut
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
My family loved this. It tasted really good and was low in calories. I tried some of the other commentors' suggestions and they really added to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by casedilla

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

Penne Pasta with Peas and Prosciutto

See how to make tasty and inexpensive pasta with peas and white beans.

Creamy Tomato & Tuna Penne Pasta

See a pasta dish that's based loosely on a classic diner lunch combo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States