Penne Pasta with Cannellini Beans and Escarole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
It is a fantastic basic recipe where you can add your favorite ingredients! I added lemon zest and substituted asparagus instead of escarole. Would be great with some fresh thyme too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
I left out the escarole, b/c where I live it is very hard to find. This was a tasty dish, with the 'fixes' that others have noted. I added 3 cloves of crushed garlic, finely chopped onion (just 1/2 of a small one), regular canned tomatoes, and some Italian spices and pepper. I also used whole grain pasta, b/c that's just what I eat. A good, satisfying, vegetarian meal with a good protein source. It is a quick meal, but I simmered the 'sauce' for awhile b/c I had the time and wanted the flavours to meld a bit. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RONNASTEFAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bangkok, Bangkok (Krung Thep Maha Nakhon), Thailand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
It's a great start, but it was pretty bland. It looks beautiful, a nice change from regular tomato sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vermillion, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Followed the recipe but without the escarole. Found it to be bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
I used spinach as a substitute. I also used 1/2 cup of red wine and 2 tbsp. of crushed red pepper. The dish was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
This was very good. Quick and easy and good for cold weather. I did add a sautéed onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
I used sweet and hot sausage slices and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
Yummy! Even the meat eaters were pleased. I was a little dissappointed with the lack of protein (only 11 gs per person with a whopping 50 gs of carbs), perhaps more beans and less pasta are in order. I used mustard greens instead because I couldn't find escarole at the store and online said it would be a good substitute (it was). I also used whole wheat penne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
The basic recipe is acceptable; however, it definitely needs more seasoning. Instead of using escarole(which we don't like), I used basil and oregano. I also used a mix of other Italian seasonings. We topped with cheese and crushed red pepper. With extra seasoning, this is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glen Carbon, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Johnsbury, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Such a yummy recipe!! I, like many of the others, also sautéed some garlic in olive oil. And instead of using canned tomatoes, i cut up some tomatoes, tossed them with olive oil, salt, and pepper, and then roasted them in the oven. the tomatoes had such a delicious flavor and tossed with everything else, came our great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

Penne Pasta with Peas and Prosciutto

See how to make tasty and inexpensive pasta with peas and white beans.

Creamy Tomato & Tuna Penne Pasta

See a pasta dish that's based loosely on a classic diner lunch combo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States