Penne Pasta with Cannellini Beans and Escarole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
The Penne Pasta with cannellini beans and Escarole was good but I made changes in the recipe. 1.) I sauté the Escarole with Garlic olive oil. Once when cooked I transferred it to a bowl. 2.) I reserved ¾ cup of past water to add to the sauce 3.) Instead of using the canned bean juice I used the canned tomato juice. 4.) I did combined Tomato in their juices and canned beans without juices pasta water also a bit of heavy cream and brought it to a simmer for 5 to 8 min so it thickened. 5.) Also I added fresh parsley and fresh Reggiano Parmagiano 6.) Instead of salt I used kosher salt. 7.) After adding the pasta to the sauce I then added the Escarole so that way the sauce would not bitter. It is funny my boyfriend asked why I picked out this recipe if I was going to change it. I said it sounds good I like the idea but I will do it my way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Utica, Michigan, USA
Living In: Dryden, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
Eh, didn't really light my fire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRNBEEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greentown, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
I added both spicy sausage and chicken. I fillowed the suggestions of others and this dish turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
I loved this dish. I used cilantro instead of endive (not a whole head, around 15 stalks), added in fresh tomatoes as well as canned, as well as minced garlic and fresh onions. I also put in mushrooms with the cannellini beans with 1 tbsp. olive oil and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
It is a fantastic basic recipe where you can add your favorite ingredients! I added lemon zest and substituted asparagus instead of escarole. Would be great with some fresh thyme too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
I left out the escarole, b/c where I live it is very hard to find. This was a tasty dish, with the 'fixes' that others have noted. I added 3 cloves of crushed garlic, finely chopped onion (just 1/2 of a small one), regular canned tomatoes, and some Italian spices and pepper. I also used whole grain pasta, b/c that's just what I eat. A good, satisfying, vegetarian meal with a good protein source. It is a quick meal, but I simmered the 'sauce' for awhile b/c I had the time and wanted the flavours to meld a bit. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RONNASTEFAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bangkok, Bangkok (Krung Thep Maha Nakhon), Thailand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
It's a great start, but it was pretty bland. It looks beautiful, a nice change from regular tomato sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vermillion, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Followed the recipe but without the escarole. Found it to be bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
I used spinach as a substitute. I also used 1/2 cup of red wine and 2 tbsp. of crushed red pepper. The dish was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
This was very good. Quick and easy and good for cold weather. I did add a sautéed onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

Penne Pasta with Peas and Prosciutto

See how to make tasty and inexpensive pasta with peas and white beans.

Creamy Tomato & Tuna Penne Pasta

See a pasta dish that's based loosely on a classic diner lunch combo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States