Penne Pasta with Cannellini Beans and Escarole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
I was skeptical of this at first. But I was looking for a meatless dinner option during Lent and tried this. It surprised me! Definately sautee some minced garlic in olive oil before adding the other ingredients. I also stir in some grated parmesean cheese to the whole thing before serving. Even better the next day (after all of the flavors have a chance to blend!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
This recipe is quick, easy and satisfying, all the things that I look for in a recipe. I like a little kick to my meals, so instead of salt and black pepper to taste, I added crushed red pepper. Just the thing on a cold winter day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
I didnt like this at all. I thought that there was hardly any real flavor, the textures were weird and the escarole a bit too bitter. I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jvfalcon
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
Quick, tasty, and cheap! 4/15/10 This recipe has been in my regular rotation for the past year or so. I have yet to find escarole in my local stores so I've been substituting with fresh spinach and that works out fine. I've also been adding minced garlic, onions, cut up sausage, and using whole grain pasta and organic diced tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jvfalcon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nutley, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
A great healthy meal. I added about 6 chicken tenders cut into bite size pieces because this dish was all I served. My grocer did not have escarole, so I subbed fresh spinach. I served this on Friday night before a trip to the movies and called it "dinner in a bowl". The kids thought it was weird to eat beans with pasta, but they liked it. I used whole grain pasta, and combined with the beans this is a high fiber hearty meal. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flame

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockingham, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
YUM YUM YUM! I added an extra can of tomatoes (the kind with garlic, oregano and basil) and then about half a cup of "no chicken" broth and this was delicious! I will definitely make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jes*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
Yum! Again good, easy, quick and cheap! I used spinach instead of escarole, only because the store near my house was out, and it still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
This was an easy, delicious, light meal. Definitely saute 3 cloves of garlic in the oil before adding the other ingredients. Spinach would also work in this dish and meat could be added if you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesaning, Michigan, USA
Living In: Greenville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
Good recipe, and healthy too. Like some other reviewers, I added onion, garlic, and 1/2 tomato along with some chili powder and cayenne pepper. Sauce was a bit too watery, I would advise draining the beans before sauteing. Overall, tasty and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M.C.Taylor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warren, Maine, USA
Living In: South Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
made with whole grain pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

Penne Pasta with Peas and Prosciutto

See how to make tasty and inexpensive pasta with peas and white beans.

Creamy Tomato & Tuna Penne Pasta

See a pasta dish that's based loosely on a classic diner lunch combo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States