Penne Pasta with Cannellini Beans and Escarole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
I couldn't find escarole anywhere and didn't know a substitute so I got collard greens and they seemed to work fine. I added a little garlic at the beginning and a few shakes of red pepper flakes and topped it with fresh grated Romano like a lot of the other reviewers recommended. It still seemed lack it was lacking some flavor, but I'm not sure what I'd try next time. But I think I will definitely try this one again, but next time with a little more experimentation...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
This is a good base recipe. I also sauteed about 3 cloves of garlic in a olive oil. Added red pepper, oregano, basil and parsley. I also let it simmer for about 20 minutes to thicken the sauce and fully cook the escarole which I didn't chopped fine enough. Topped with pecorino romano cheese. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Haven, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Port Jervis, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
i enjoyed, but not a good choice for the husband who desires meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by messy chestnut
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
My family loved this. It tasted really good and was low in calories. I tried some of the other commentors' suggestions and they really added to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by casedilla

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
I have made this when I can find escarole and it is very good. A bean and escarole dish should taste like beans and escarole. If you don't like beans and escarole don't make this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkton, Maryland, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
Unfortunately, we didn't like this so much. It really didn't have much flavor - it just tasted like beans and escarole. I shouldn't have been surprised given so few ingredients, but I did add red pepper and some parmesan cheese and it was still pretty bland, although the red pepper did help. Usually we take leftovers to work, but we threw this out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cat Lady Cyndi
Reviewed: May 21, 2009
This is so delicious!! I did make a few changes though. I used a generous amount of olive oil and four cloves of garlic first in the pan, and sauteed for a few minutes. Then I added the escarole and let it wilt a bit, then added the tomatoes and beans with some crushed red pepper, parmesan cheese, Italian seasoning, salt & pepper. I let it all simmer about 15-20 minutes. I will definitely be making this again, maybe next time adding some sliced mushrooms too. Thanks for the recipe, this is wonderful (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2009
Made this for dinner tonight, as I wanted something high in fiber, but delicious... and it delivered! I used whole wheat penne to add more fiber, and like other reviewers, added a couple sprinkles of red pepper flakes just because I like a little extra heat, and this was delicious. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
I subbed fresh spinach for escarole, and I rinsed and drained the beans and subbed 2 ladles of pasta water, I figured this would reduce the sodium! The kids liked it, even brought leftovers to school for lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryAnne aka Anne's daughter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Clinton, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
This recipe gets 4 stars for being easy and healthy. It tasted pretty good for everyday, but not a "company" meal. I didn't have escarole on hand, so I used frozen chopped spinach instead, added extra garlic, and we also sprinkled with parmesan cheese. I don't know if the flavor would have been better with escarole, but the spinach was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

Penne Pasta with Peas and Prosciutto

See how to make tasty and inexpensive pasta with peas and white beans.

Creamy Tomato & Tuna Penne Pasta

See a pasta dish that's based loosely on a classic diner lunch combo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States