Penne Pasta with Cannellini Beans and Escarole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
The Penne Pasta with cannellini beans and Escarole was good but I made changes in the recipe. 1.) I sauté the Escarole with Garlic olive oil. Once when cooked I transferred it to a bowl. 2.) I reserved ¾ cup of past water to add to the sauce 3.) Instead of using the canned bean juice I used the canned tomato juice. 4.) I did combined Tomato in their juices and canned beans without juices pasta water also a bit of heavy cream and brought it to a simmer for 5 to 8 min so it thickened. 5.) Also I added fresh parsley and fresh Reggiano Parmagiano 6.) Instead of salt I used kosher salt. 7.) After adding the pasta to the sauce I then added the Escarole so that way the sauce would not bitter. It is funny my boyfriend asked why I picked out this recipe if I was going to change it. I said it sounds good I like the idea but I will do it my way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Utica, Michigan, USA
Living In: Dryden, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
Eh, didn't really light my fire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRNBEEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greentown, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
I added both spicy sausage and chicken. I fillowed the suggestions of others and this dish turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
I loved this dish. I used cilantro instead of endive (not a whole head, around 15 stalks), added in fresh tomatoes as well as canned, as well as minced garlic and fresh onions. I also put in mushrooms with the cannellini beans with 1 tbsp. olive oil and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
It is a fantastic basic recipe where you can add your favorite ingredients! I added lemon zest and substituted asparagus instead of escarole. Would be great with some fresh thyme too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
I left out the escarole, b/c where I live it is very hard to find. This was a tasty dish, with the 'fixes' that others have noted. I added 3 cloves of crushed garlic, finely chopped onion (just 1/2 of a small one), regular canned tomatoes, and some Italian spices and pepper. I also used whole grain pasta, b/c that's just what I eat. A good, satisfying, vegetarian meal with a good protein source. It is a quick meal, but I simmered the 'sauce' for awhile b/c I had the time and wanted the flavours to meld a bit. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RONNASTEFAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bangkok, Bangkok (Krung Thep Maha Nakhon), Thailand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
It's a great start, but it was pretty bland. It looks beautiful, a nice change from regular tomato sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vermillion, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Followed the recipe but without the escarole. Found it to be bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
I used spinach as a substitute. I also used 1/2 cup of red wine and 2 tbsp. of crushed red pepper. The dish was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
This was very good. Quick and easy and good for cold weather. I did add a sautéed onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

Penne Pasta with Peas and Prosciutto

See how to make tasty and inexpensive pasta with peas and white beans.

Creamy Tomato & Tuna Penne Pasta

See a pasta dish that's based loosely on a classic diner lunch combo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States