Peking Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
Being of chinese descent, as well as the daughter of two very well known chefs, it is hard to capture my taste buds. but this recipe was quick and easy and all 5 of my kids (including the baby) loved this as well as my husband and parents! I made rice and noodles to go with this along with an oriental salad as some like rice and others like noodles. I will defintelty be putting this one in my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
256 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAIROTAIVA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2003
I guess I have some weird dissorder because for some reason it's almost impossible for me to follow a recipe exactly as it's written. Just like the majority of recipes I try, I just have to add a little extra something. I decreased the soy to 1/4 of a cup (some reviewers said 1/2 a cup made it too salty) and added a dash of onion powder, garlic powder and worchestershire sauce. The chops turned out tasty and tender. At first the sauce didn't look like it would be enough, but the pork lets out a lot of water, so no problem there. I'm serving this with egg noodles and baked cauliflower (also found on this site). Hubby's not home from work yet (and my 4 year old son wouldn't touch pork chops with a ten foot stick) so I'm basing this review upon my little "taste test" and I enjoyed it. Thanks Lynda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
Tender, moist and delicious! This was super easy and had a nice Asian flair to it - definitely great for a "fix it and forget it" type of meal. I used low sodium soy sauce, added a couple splashes of rice wine vinegar and let it go. I found that this was done in 4 hours vs. 6 and there's nothing worse than the dreaded "dry pork" so watch your cooking time. I plated it and to pretty it up a bit I topped it with some chopped green onion - very good without a lot of effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2003
This was really good. All I had was really thin chops, but they still came out nice and tender. I gave this recipe five stars because my preschooler not only ate his whole chop but had two helpings of rice with the "gravy" on it. He hummed while he ate. I wasn't sure what Chinese ketchup was so I used half hoisin sauce and half ketchup. I also used about half the amount of light soy and almost doubled the sugar and it was still plenty salty enough. During the last hour or so, I added some canned pineapple chunks along with a good shot of the juice and half a green pepper. Definitely a keeper! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2002
Pretty good but as others have mentioned, the soy sauce (1/2 cup) is overwhelming. Still, to the recipe's credit, the chops were very moist. They fell apart as I was trying to take them out of the slow cooker to serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2002
I didn't know that I was out of soy sauce, so I substituted beer and left out the ginger. It was incredible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2002
This was very yummy. My picky and non-picky sons ate it. My oldest was disappointed when I ate the leftovers! He wanted them! I followed others advice and only used a 1/4 cup of soy sauce and adjusted the cooking time. I also added more water than called for. It was very good. (I don't even like pork, unless it is a ham, and it was great!)A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
Excellent!!My one and two year old's both loved this!! I added a splash of cider vinegar and a little extra brown sugar. Was soooo good!! I also turned the crock pot up to high, and cracked the lid for the last hour to thicken the sauce a bit, worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yardley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2002
This made excellent pork chops, I used the thick boneless center cut ones. 5 hours on Low was the perfect cook time; Gets 5 stars for "Easy" just pour all in the crockpot and turn it on. I added an extra clove of garlic, and used low sodium soy sauce which was salty enough. Thanks for sharing, Lynda!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZYSPINELLA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Huntington Station, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2002
Did not like at all. Very dry and very salty. I even used low sodium soy sauce. Sorry, not a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAREN325

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Douglasville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 228) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Grilled Pork Chops

See how to make a sensational marinade for grilled pork chops.

Slow Cooker Pork Chops II

See how to make tasty, tender chops slowly cooked in a flavorful sauce.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States