Peking Duck Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2001
Its delicious, and very impressive for entertaining. All liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2001
I changed this recipe slighty - becasue I don't have a steamer - and I roasted the duck for 2 hours befoer basting it. I also added chinese plum sauce to my honey baste. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
148 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2003
Wonderful recipe. I stuffed the bird with a bread stuffing. Not very traditional for Peking duck, but delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2004
This was delicious. I didn't have time to make the plum dipping sauce and the duck was tasty without it. But I wish I had planned better and made the sauce while the duck was steaming instead of waiting until the last minute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEMEEBULUGA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2004
this was excellent. I made the following changes I split the duck along the breast bone and layed it flat before the spice rub, refrigerated overnight.I gently pricked the skin to render most of the fat. Steamed for about 2 hours. I made 3 different dipping sauces, the plum in the recipe, orange sauce made with orange marmalade, and a sweet and sour sauce. The duck was juicy with a nice crispy skin. Not a scrap was left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2005
I did something wrong and it did not come out crispy....but the flavor was wonderful!! We did buy a premade plum sauce to go with it (lazy that day). We are going to make it again though...great way to have duck! Giggle, giggle, quack!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2005
Very easy compared to tradional peking duck recipes, and very tasty. I added grated ginger and pieces of star anise into the cavity and used all the spice rub for the skin. A notes of caution, watch duck very closely when increasing heat (especially if using a convection oven). Didn't make the homemade plum sauce, instead heated 2 tsp. canola oil in saucepan until hot, then added 1 cup hoisin sauce (it will sizzle) and jusce of 2 limes. Usually, peding duck is served with "pancakes" for wrapping the meat - instead, I used lettuce leaves to wrap the duck, along with basil leaves & mint, then added the sauce - fabulous! Serve with fried rice or noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2005
This recipe was absolute rubbish. You need a good few hours (8+) to render the fat before even thinking about making the skin crispy. An utter failure
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
156 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by grandmahawkeye
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
I made this duck for New Years day, it was very easy. I did have to put duck under broiler to get it crispy, the duck was still great. I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brian
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
While I'm not a big duck fan, my spouse is. She and her girlfriends devoured this duck and loved it! I cooked it exactly as given in the recipe. The plum sauce went over big, also. If you like duck you will love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Duck Breast and Puree

Learn how to make a dish served with orange-spiced leek and sweet-potato puree.

How to Make Duck Sous Vide

See Chef John’s stovetop technique for making duck breasts “sous vide.”

Duck Fesenjan

See how to make a savory stew featuring duck, pomegranate, and walnuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States