Peking Duck Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2015
This is one of my absolute favorite duck recipes. There are never any leftovers from this meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Amazingly good duck! Table for one please. It was just me this weekend so I made one breast, not the whole duck. I omitted the orange rounds and substituted pomegranate molasses for the plum jam, garlic rice wine vinegar for distilled and sweet and spicy thai sauce for the chutney. I used all the other ingredients. I scored the fat before seasoning both sides and left it in the frig overnight. I didn't steam it but instead seared it skin-side down until golden. I cooked it on the green onions at 375 for 10 minutes, topped with the honey mixture and roasted for 3 minutes. It was so tender and perfectly pink in the middle. The sauce was a really good compliment to the duck. I ate it with smothered potatoes and onions (fried in the duck fat) and oyster sauce glazed yellow squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Isthat Onsale
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Wonderful recipe. Everyone, including the "no eat duck" ones loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BIG BOY
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
Loved this recipe. Steamed 1/12 hrs. In a vented roasting pan with 3/4 in. of water on the stove top. I added 2 tea spoons of fresh minced ginger to the spice rub. I worked the rub well into the duck prior to refrigerating for 6 hrs. I am going to China Town next week and purchase a Chinese Peking duck and I will report back to you guys after comparison of what I have prepared with this recipe. M
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
This is quite a bit of trouble to make, but I was very happy how it turned out. My wife liked it as well. One substitution.... I could not find plum preserves, so I used peach for the duck sauce instead. I thought I had made too much, and when tasted in the dish I mixed it in I thought it was so so. When dipping the duck in it, and with the garnish flavors mixed it, it was great. Wish I had made more of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Jackson, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
I just did this recipe as my first duck - actually I did two ducks at the same time since I had 5 adults and two kids to make happy. Overall the recipe is clear and my guests all enjoyed it. I matched it with the "Mandarin Pancakes" recipe on this site by Rhonda Parkinson with green onions and a variety of sauces (yum) One comment is the my ducks' internal temperatures were slightly higher than ideal when I finished crimping the skins. I think the reason why was because I used the "convection roast" feature on my oven and forgot that cooks faster. I'm going to try again soon and use regular roast setting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
My first time steaming a duck. This was delicious! Could use a few more details in the recipe for us beginners (googled for a few details on how to do things). So moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Seeker
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
This dish was very tasty, but next time I will use a vertical poultry roaster to get a crispier skin. I will also put in some water in the bottom of my roaster before roasting because my pan was a mess trying to clean afterward. I let the duck hang overnight in a cool room to dry. My Husband and I made this together and really enjoyed making it. I used orange marmalade with the red plum jam which was extremely good. We loved the finished look.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seeker

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
I did not care for this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
I followed the hint about roasting it at 375 degrees for two hours instead of steaming because I could not fit it in my steamer or wok (roast for two hours, then jump to the basting and 5 minute skin crisping). I made a large foil tent and placed it over the duck the entire time it was roasting and I think that really helped crisp the skin. I was skeptical that the skin would crisp at all but was pleasantly surprised. It was not crisped to the extent of real peking duck, but it was very satisfactory. I was out of cloves and nutmeg, so I added extra cinnamon to cover for it and I had no green onions, so I left those out. Oh, and instead of the plum sauce mixture I used Hoisin Sauce, which is what my chinese friend does. Still turned out marvelous, can't wait to try it with all the ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Duck Breast and Puree

Learn how to make a dish served with orange-spiced leek and sweet-potato puree.

How to Make Duck Sous Vide

See Chef John’s stovetop technique for making duck breasts “sous vide.”

Duck Fesenjan

See how to make a savory stew featuring duck, pomegranate, and walnuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States