Peking Duck Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2001
I changed this recipe slighty - becasue I don't have a steamer - and I roasted the duck for 2 hours befoer basting it. I also added chinese plum sauce to my honey baste. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
141 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2005
This recipe was absolute rubbish. You need a good few hours (8+) to render the fat before even thinking about making the skin crispy. An utter failure
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
134 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2005
Very easy compared to tradional peking duck recipes, and very tasty. I added grated ginger and pieces of star anise into the cavity and used all the spice rub for the skin. A notes of caution, watch duck very closely when increasing heat (especially if using a convection oven). Didn't make the homemade plum sauce, instead heated 2 tsp. canola oil in saucepan until hot, then added 1 cup hoisin sauce (it will sizzle) and jusce of 2 limes. Usually, peding duck is served with "pancakes" for wrapping the meat - instead, I used lettuce leaves to wrap the duck, along with basil leaves & mint, then added the sauce - fabulous! Serve with fried rice or noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2004
this was excellent. I made the following changes I split the duck along the breast bone and layed it flat before the spice rub, refrigerated overnight.I gently pricked the skin to render most of the fat. Steamed for about 2 hours. I made 3 different dipping sauces, the plum in the recipe, orange sauce made with orange marmalade, and a sweet and sour sauce. The duck was juicy with a nice crispy skin. Not a scrap was left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
This is the third time I've made this recipe, its wonderful. I made it for a small dinner party last. I bought two 5 pound ducks and marinated for 24 hours with a little garlic on in inside with the green onions. Also used fresh ginger. I don't have a steamer big enough so I just roast it at around 425 for 40 minutes, basting it every ten minutes, then I put on the glaze and turn the oven down to 350 for about 30 minutes glazing and basting every ten minutes then 250 till done. When I need to crisp it I turn it to broil or 450 checking it often. I wait until its internal temp is 165. I serve with Wontons and rice. Hope this wasn't confusing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
I absolutely love duck! I was so excited to see this on here. Followed exactly and it turned out wonderful. If you really like duck, I would get a little bigger duck for more servings. I used a 5lb and it was barely enough for my husband and I once you get the meat off.Very good and will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
How about Peking Chicken? I made this using chicken instead of duck. the steaming process really made for a very moist and tender chicken. You may want to very slightly reduce the spices a little since the chicken has a milder flesh. Overall very nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by seaweasel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
My husband said this was the best duck he ever had, and he has had Peking Duck in Peking! The roasted crust was great and the meat very succoulant. I prefer a saltier taste, so I will add salt next time. The steaming then roasting process was key to the tenderness of the meat, as duck is often cooked too dry. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by texanbelle71

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
I have never made peking duck; however i tried it when friends and family came over (guinea pigs). I didn't have a steamer but I had a roasting pan with holes on top as well as a rack that went with it on top. I poked holes in the duck with the fork after I had it sit with the spice marinade overnight. I did place green onions and a chopped garlic clove in the cavity. I placed water in the bottom of the pan and cooked with foil cover at 375 degrees in convection oven for an hour. I drained the fat and then placed it back on the rack with foil. At this point I basted it with the soy/honey every half hour. (still returned foil on top) I tried to turn up to 475 but smoking and too hot. Turned it down to 400 and continued cooking, basting with the sauce every 20 minutes. It did get a bit darker and not too fatty. I turned on broiler for about 5-10 minutes to make skin crispier. Delicious. Friend who doesn't like duck and had tried peking duck before truly enjoyed it. I doubled the sauce recipe but used plum sauce instead of jam and used mango chutney (did chop up the bigger chunks). Delicious. First time making duck. Definitely a hit. Will make again. Took approximately 2 1/2 hours to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GingerbreadMommy
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
Easy. I substituted the chutney with Hoisin Sauce and it's more authentic that way. Take Chinese Pancakes and place some duck meat inside. Drizzle with Hoisin sauce. Add a sprig of green onion. Roll the pancake. Each person does his/her own rolling at the table before eating. That's the traditional way of having Peking Duck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GingerbreadMommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Duck Breast and Puree

Learn how to make a dish served with orange-spiced leek and sweet-potato puree.

How to Make Duck Sous Vide

See Chef John’s stovetop technique for making duck breasts “sous vide.”

Chef John's Orange Duck

See how to make simple, saucy, somewhat sexy duck a l’Orange.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States