Peking Duck Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Amazingly good duck! Table for one please. It was just me this weekend so I made one breast, not the whole duck. I omitted the orange rounds and substituted pomegranate molasses for the plum jam, garlic rice wine vinegar for distilled and sweet and spicy thai sauce for the chutney. I used all the other ingredients. I scored the fat before seasoning both sides and left it in the frig overnight. I didn't steam it but instead seared it skin-side down until golden. I cooked it on the green onions at 375 for 10 minutes, topped with the honey mixture and roasted for 3 minutes. It was so tender and perfectly pink in the middle. The sauce was a really good compliment to the duck. I ate it with smothered potatoes and onions (fried in the duck fat) and oyster sauce glazed yellow squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Isthat Onsale
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Wonderful recipe. Everyone, including the "no eat duck" ones loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BIG BOY
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
Loved this recipe. Steamed 1/12 hrs. In a vented roasting pan with 3/4 in. of water on the stove top. I added 2 tea spoons of fresh minced ginger to the spice rub. I worked the rub well into the duck prior to refrigerating for 6 hrs. I am going to China Town next week and purchase a Chinese Peking duck and I will report back to you guys after comparison of what I have prepared with this recipe. M
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
This is quite a bit of trouble to make, but I was very happy how it turned out. My wife liked it as well. One substitution.... I could not find plum preserves, so I used peach for the duck sauce instead. I thought I had made too much, and when tasted in the dish I mixed it in I thought it was so so. When dipping the duck in it, and with the garnish flavors mixed it, it was great. Wish I had made more of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Jackson, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
I just did this recipe as my first duck - actually I did two ducks at the same time since I had 5 adults and two kids to make happy. Overall the recipe is clear and my guests all enjoyed it. I matched it with the "Mandarin Pancakes" recipe on this site by Rhonda Parkinson with green onions and a variety of sauces (yum) One comment is the my ducks' internal temperatures were slightly higher than ideal when I finished crimping the skins. I think the reason why was because I used the "convection roast" feature on my oven and forgot that cooks faster. I'm going to try again soon and use regular roast setting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
My first time steaming a duck. This was delicious! Could use a few more details in the recipe for us beginners (googled for a few details on how to do things). So moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Seeker
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
This dish was very tasty, but next time I will use a vertical poultry roaster to get a crispier skin. I will also put in some water in the bottom of my roaster before roasting because my pan was a mess trying to clean afterward. I let the duck hang overnight in a cool room to dry. My Husband and I made this together and really enjoyed making it. I used orange marmalade with the red plum jam which was extremely good. We loved the finished look.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seeker

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
I did not care for this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
I followed the hint about roasting it at 375 degrees for two hours instead of steaming because I could not fit it in my steamer or wok (roast for two hours, then jump to the basting and 5 minute skin crisping). I made a large foil tent and placed it over the duck the entire time it was roasting and I think that really helped crisp the skin. I was skeptical that the skin would crisp at all but was pleasantly surprised. It was not crisped to the extent of real peking duck, but it was very satisfactory. I was out of cloves and nutmeg, so I added extra cinnamon to cover for it and I had no green onions, so I left those out. Oh, and instead of the plum sauce mixture I used Hoisin Sauce, which is what my chinese friend does. Still turned out marvelous, can't wait to try it with all the ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
very good recipe. I actually used a roasting rack with a little less than 1/4 inch of water in the bottom, covered the duck with foil without it touching the duck. baked slow. then remove foil for color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassygill

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Duck Breast and Puree

Learn how to make a dish served with orange-spiced leek and sweet-potato puree.

How to Make Duck Sous Vide

See Chef John’s stovetop technique for making duck breasts “sous vide.”

Duck Fesenjan

See how to make a savory stew featuring duck, pomegranate, and walnuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States