Peking Duck Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
This is quite a bit of trouble to make, but I was very happy how it turned out. My wife liked it as well. One substitution.... I could not find plum preserves, so I used peach for the duck sauce instead. I thought I had made too much, and when tasted in the dish I mixed it in I thought it was so so. When dipping the duck in it, and with the garnish flavors mixed it, it was great. Wish I had made more of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Jackson, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
I just did this recipe as my first duck - actually I did two ducks at the same time since I had 5 adults and two kids to make happy. Overall the recipe is clear and my guests all enjoyed it. I matched it with the "Mandarin Pancakes" recipe on this site by Rhonda Parkinson with green onions and a variety of sauces (yum) One comment is the my ducks' internal temperatures were slightly higher than ideal when I finished crimping the skins. I think the reason why was because I used the "convection roast" feature on my oven and forgot that cooks faster. I'm going to try again soon and use regular roast setting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
My first time steaming a duck. This was delicious! Could use a few more details in the recipe for us beginners (googled for a few details on how to do things). So moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Seeker
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
This dish was very tasty, but next time I will use a vertical poultry roaster to get a crispier skin. I will also put in some water in the bottom of my roaster before roasting because my pan was a mess trying to clean afterward. I let the duck hang overnight in a cool room to dry. My Husband and I made this together and really enjoyed making it. I used orange marmalade with the red plum jam which was extremely good. We loved the finished look.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seeker

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
I did not care for this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
I followed the hint about roasting it at 375 degrees for two hours instead of steaming because I could not fit it in my steamer or wok (roast for two hours, then jump to the basting and 5 minute skin crisping). I made a large foil tent and placed it over the duck the entire time it was roasting and I think that really helped crisp the skin. I was skeptical that the skin would crisp at all but was pleasantly surprised. It was not crisped to the extent of real peking duck, but it was very satisfactory. I was out of cloves and nutmeg, so I added extra cinnamon to cover for it and I had no green onions, so I left those out. Oh, and instead of the plum sauce mixture I used Hoisin Sauce, which is what my chinese friend does. Still turned out marvelous, can't wait to try it with all the ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
very good recipe. I actually used a roasting rack with a little less than 1/4 inch of water in the bottom, covered the duck with foil without it touching the duck. baked slow. then remove foil for color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassygill

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
The biggest draw back with this dish is the involved and semi-difficult prep and cooking steps. The flavor was subtle on strength, not over powering at all, but very complicated and exotic. With fresh plum duck sauce this make a great main course for a meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
I prepared this and rabbit last week for a food and wine pairing party it was FANTASTIC!! Everyone LOVED IT...very easy and super moist
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
fantastic! only let sit with spices for 2 hrs. next time will leave over night for more flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Duck Breast and Puree

Learn how to make a dish served with orange-spiced leek and sweet-potato puree.

How to Make Duck Sous Vide

See Chef John’s stovetop technique for making duck breasts “sous vide.”

Chef John's Orange Duck

See how to make simple, saucy, somewhat sexy duck a l’Orange.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States