Peg's Summer Squash Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
I could die and go to heaven right now, having succumbed to culinary bliss. I used 'space ship' squash (small, yellow summer squash) and followed the recipe, but I added a few things. Following the advice of previous raters, I cooked mine for about 40 minutes. I added a drizzle of olive oil, sliced red pepper, fresh garlic, and a sprinkle of basil. Additionally, I had some green chille pepper from my garden that I diced and through in. The result was beyond delicious and so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
This was good. I added peppers and onions as suggested along with some rosemary, tossed the veggies in olive oil and omitted the butter. It took longer than the recommended time to cook, and I ended up raising the oven temperature to 450 to hurry it along, since the rest of my meal was ready and waiting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
This recipe is the best summer squash dish I have ever had! It is so easy and I just love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Stone
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
I chose to take the advice of the recipe submitter and alternated zucchini and squash as well as a bit of diced red bell pepper for a bit of colour. I knew I wanted it to have some seasoning, so I added some garlic powder & italian seasoning to the parmesan cheese mixture. This was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
My husband and I really liked this. I did modify it a little, but just by adding a few spices. I used a little bit of garlic salt sprinkled over the squash, as well as some cracked black pepper. I spread the zucchini in a single layer on the pan, but with a little bit of overlap so I could fit more squash in. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
No need for real butter. Save the calories and use spray butter. It came out great! YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
Made this last night. I took the advice of a previous reviewer and alternated zucchini and yellow squash. This had no flavor and my husband told me to not make it again, that it was a waste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
This was delicious! I tried to cut back on the butter, just putting a smidge on each piece of squash. Next time I'll try to spray with olive oil and use the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
I've made this recipe three times now and love it. It's a big hit at pot lucks and a great way to use up my abundance of summer squash. We like it with just yellow squash or alternating with zucchini. We're spice lovers so I took advice of other reviewers and added some diced onion, 1-2 cloves diced garlic, dried basil (to taste), half a diced red chili or jalapeno (depending on what's laying around), 1/3 diced red pepper, and cut the butter in half. It turns out perfect every time. Thanks for this super easy & fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
I liked the idea of baking the squash, but there was WAY too much butter and it took much longer to brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States