Peg's Summer Squash Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
OMG. I am not usually blown away by a new recipe but I could eat this every night. Really full of flavor - loved it exactly as written
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nashville Nosher
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
Yummy! I actually sauteed mine on the stove top with some olive oil. I added a bit of garlic and onion, also. I also tossed in some fresh basil because I got a LOT with my CSA this go-round (also the reason for needing a squash recipe!) The parmesan cheese in this is simply divine!! Can't wait for the leftovers today at lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nashville Nosher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
I've made this recipe three times now and love it. It's a big hit at pot lucks and a great way to use up my abundance of summer squash. We like it with just yellow squash or alternating with zucchini. We're spice lovers so I took advice of other reviewers and added some diced onion, 1-2 cloves diced garlic, dried basil (to taste), half a diced red chili or jalapeno (depending on what's laying around), 1/3 diced red pepper, and cut the butter in half. It turns out perfect every time. Thanks for this super easy & fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
I just made this tonight. It was awesome. Keeping this recipe in front of recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Grand Isle, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
No need for real butter. Save the calories and use spray butter. It came out great! YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
I could die and go to heaven right now, having succumbed to culinary bliss. I used 'space ship' squash (small, yellow summer squash) and followed the recipe, but I added a few things. Following the advice of previous raters, I cooked mine for about 40 minutes. I added a drizzle of olive oil, sliced red pepper, fresh garlic, and a sprinkle of basil. Additionally, I had some green chille pepper from my garden that I diced and through in. The result was beyond delicious and so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
My husband and I really liked this. I did modify it a little, but just by adding a few spices. I used a little bit of garlic salt sprinkled over the squash, as well as some cracked black pepper. I spread the zucchini in a single layer on the pan, but with a little bit of overlap so I could fit more squash in. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
Made this last night. I took the advice of a previous reviewer and alternated zucchini and yellow squash. This had no flavor and my husband told me to not make it again, that it was a waste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
This was delicious! I tried to cut back on the butter, just putting a smidge on each piece of squash. Next time I'll try to spray with olive oil and use the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
This was good. I added peppers and onions as suggested along with some rosemary, tossed the veggies in olive oil and omitted the butter. It took longer than the recommended time to cook, and I ended up raising the oven temperature to 450 to hurry it along, since the rest of my meal was ready and waiting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States