Pectin-Free Strawberry Rhubarb Jam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Niki Louca

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
Amazing!! Never canned before and put this one together without any problems. I used just 4 cups of sugar, and it turned out a little tart, but I love it. Amount produced was a bit off - I doubled the recipe and filled just 13 8oz jars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
Follow this recipe and you won't be disappointed! Great flavours and sets up very well. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kapsbreeze

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
I had about 8 lbs of rhubarb and 6 lbs of strawberries so I made this the other day while making pies. It is one of the best jams I've ever made and it was so easy. I love no added pectin recipes. I did add the strawberries at the beginning and let it sit all night. Finished it up the next morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by celticthistlelady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
I have made three batches of this so far this spring and each one has been perfect. I love that it is pectin-free and allows experimentation with the fruit-sugar ratio. I think I will try some of the suggestions here for adding different fruits to the mix. I belong to a food swap group and jars of this are going to be very much in demand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by promotionpro
Reviewed: May 19, 2014
I had 2/3 the amount of fruit called for -- 6 total cups of fruit: 3 C of rhubarb and 3 cups of strawberry -- so I used 2/3 the sugar called for. The recipe divided evenly to 4 Cups of sugar with perfect end-results . I soaked the rhubarb in one Cup of sugar overnight, then added 3 more the next morning and let it sit another hour, stirring 3 Xs. I tossed in the strawberries, freshly cut and NOT pre-soaked in sugar, which gave the starwberries a bit more voice in the mix, and also gave an 'almost' preservre-like density to my jam, which I think is ideal. As a tweak, I added 1/4 cup blueberry that was past baking quality. They were a bit fridge-dried so I also soaked these in 1/4 Cup of sugar, over might. They plumped into a 1/2 Cup of lovely, not over-shouting blueberries, that gave a scosh more sweetness and a deeper color to the final product. My end-result was the most 'regal' strawberry-rhubarb jam, ever - Devine inspiration in a container of slightly dreid up blueberries! I winged the lemon, juice, adding probably 1/4 Cup., and cooked the jam mixture at a low rolling boil for a bit onger than suggested - about 40 minutes - and it passed the 'line on a plate' test beautifully. My ingredient volumes, reduced into a jam, filled 5 8-oz jars, and this morning, my delicious tart and sweet jam had a medium-hard set to it, that my 2 teenagers self-served without making a mess (score); and they both headed out the door with a second piece of toast in-hand. That's a SCORE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by promotionpro
Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
Turned out perfect. Followed the directions exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Doniphan, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
I really like this Jam, but it was too sweet for me, next time I will try using 5 cups of sugar instead. Otherwise it was easy to make and had a nice texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
Super easy and came out great! Just don't forget to sanitize your jars before starting your jam!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
I just finished making this, first time jam maker and canner! It was simple to follow. I let the rhubarb sit overnight in the 6 cups of sugar so it was really easy to cook without sticking to the bottom of the pot the next day. I had to lick the spatula! It is sooo tasty! Keeping my fingers crossed my jars seal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Strawberry Freezer Jam

See how to make super-simple strawberry freezer jam from scratch.

Rhubarb Berry Jam

See how to make blueberry and rhubarb jam.

How to Make Strawberry Jam

This recipe for fresh jam couldn't be easier—just three basic ingredients!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States