Pecan Turtle Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
these were pretty tasty, although not quite what i was expecting. the brown sugar crust sort of overwhelms the flavor i think, but its still yummy. i think next time i will halve the crust, quadruple the sugar/butter (caramel) mix and also the pecans, and then leave the chocolate as is. my favorite part of turtles is the pecan/caramel, with just enough chocolate to set off the taste, so i think just enough crust to hold it together would be perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misslynnae

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
Like a few other reviewers, I found this too greasy from the butter and the brown sugar mixture grainy. Not sure how to fix these issues. Cook the brown sugar mix longer? I was concerned that if I overcooked it then it would turn into brittle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lenihan5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Amazing!!! Also doubled the butter and brown sugar layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
Unlike everyone else, I didn't like these bars. I didn't find them to be very tasty, and I even doubled the butter, sugar, & chocolate like everyone else suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by icyeyes2

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
It is definitely a candy. I followed the advice about doubling the flour. I upped the butter/sugar layer too. I also increased the choc chips but shoudln't have, it made that top choc layer too chick - for me. I would also use milk chips next time. I guess I kind of wish the bars were a little thicker. If the pan were smaller then you might not need to increase everything. I might experiment with that the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
Easy to make and tasty, but I had trouble keeping the bars together. Still, it was a fine recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jon

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Mount Prospect, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
these were AMAZING. i actually substituted the pecans for walnuts and it was a HUGE hit. they disappeared in a few hours. they are sweet, nutty, and so addicting: perfect for a sweet tooth. but definitely try walnuts. AWESOME RECIPE :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
I followed the recipe precisely, and mine seemed greasy and grainy (like the brown sugar didn't ever completely dissolve). Probably not my best use of good butter. . . Maybe if I had cooked them longer than the recipe said, but I don't know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
These are great! Very sweet but good for the sweet tooth! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Bake

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
Also felt these were way too buttery (greasy) and that flavor over-powered the bars. Even with the added 1/2 cup flour that others suggested, it was too much butter. I couldn't even tell that there were pecans or carmel flavors that were supposed to a part of these bars. 2 stars given purely for the simple and easy recipe. I will definately adapt the concept and revamp the. I think I will use the crust from the Lemon Pie Bars recipe from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISAMARRIE14

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sheldon, Iowa, USA
Living In: Hull, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 224) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Snappy Turtle Cookies

These fun chocolate-frosted cookies look just like turtles!

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States