Pecan Turtle Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
SO SO Simple and really really good... very rich and sweet though... an easy recipe to through together when you need a quick dessert.... I followed the suggestion of another reviewer and added an additional half half of flour and I also added a half cup of semi-sweet chips to the milk chocolate mine turned out wonderful.... I can see how more of the caramel layer might be good but the way I made them turned out great....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
These were my favorite cookie in the cookie exchange this year! Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langley, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Following other reviews, I used 2 c. of flour rather than 1 1/2 and that was good. I also doubled the brown sugar mixture and the chocolate and used 1 1/2 c. pecan halves. Next time, I won't double the chocolate and I will rough chop the pecans. Sometimes the reviews are great and sometimes you just have to try the original recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
I have to say that this is the first recipe from AllRecipes that I just did not really like and will not bake again...I did as others suggested and added 2 cups of flour rather than 1 1/2 and doubled the caramel middle but it just never came together into a tasty dessert. The bottom layer was greasy and the caramel was nonexistant and the milk chocolate topping was far too sweet. Maybe I'll like them more after they have rested overnight but for now I will not make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
These bars are amazing. Served them to 4 adults and 2/3 of the pan were gone! I did use 2 cups of flour, doubled the caramel layer and used 2 cups milk chocolate chips. After baking it, I let it cool, then I melted the chocolate in the microwave and poured on top which made it much easier to spread. This should be allowed to cool for a few hours in order to set properly, which made it easier to cut and less "oozy". Would absolutely make it again, and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
These were very tasty little cookie bars, but next time I think some adjustments will be necessary. I made the recipe exactly as written. A few more pecans might be nice (that's personal taste, of course), and the bottom layer crumbles as you munch. If the cookie held together a little better, all would be well! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I had high hopes for this recipe. I followed the suggestion of previous reviewers and increased the flour to 2 cups, other than that and using dark chocolate chips rather than milk chocolate chips I followed the recipe exactly. They tasted like nothing but butter and sugar to me - even the dark chocolate flavor was lost in the sugar. I couldn't eat them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hampton, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly for these and everyone loved them. They all disappeared!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
These are as delicious as a turtle chocolate treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
These were overly sweet for us. Not what I was hoping for. Fast and easy recipe to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Snappy Turtle Cookies

These fun chocolate-frosted cookies look just like turtles!

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States